89th University of Mysore’s Inter-collegiate Athletic Meet 2016-17: Basudeva Somani FGC, Vidyodaya FGC emerge overall champions

89th University of Mysore’s Inter-collegiate Athletic Meet 2016-17: Basudeva Somani FGC, Vidyodaya FGC emerge overall champions

Basudeva Somani FGC (118 points) and Vidyodaya FGC, T.N. Pura in (91 points) won the overall                          team championship titles in men’s and women’s categories respectively in the 89th University of Mysore Inter-collegiate Athletic Meet 2017-18 which concluded here yesterday.

Boby Sabu of Basudeva Somani FGC was adjudged the best athlete in the men’s section with 1,859 points. C.R. Jayashree of Vidyodaya FGC emerged as the best athlete in the women’s section with 1464 points.

Two new meet records were set on the final day of the meet in the men’s section. Boby Sabu set a new meet record in the men’s long jump event by leaping to a record distance of 6.90 mts erasing the previous mark of 6.79 mts set by T.S. Ravi of PGSC in 2014-15.

Basudeva Somani FGC 4×100 mts relay quartet of  Rohit Kumar Singh, Suhas S. Gowda, Boby Sabu and R. Sagar set a new meet record in the relay with a timing of 44.42 sec, erasing the old mark of 44.63 sec set by the Basudeva Somani FGC  last year.

Results: Men: 400 mts: 1. Suri, Basudev Somani College, Mysore (53.41 sec), 2. M. Manjunath, GFGC, KR. Nagar (55.50 sec), 3. M.B. Sumanth Kumar, Government Science College, Hassan, (55.91 sec); Discus Throw: Umesh Kumar, SBRR MFGC (36.86 mts), 2. Masood Ahamed, Sujal FGC, Hassan (33.37 sec), 3. Amore Gowda, PGSC MGM (30.43 sec); Pole Vault: 1. M. Shashank Gowda, Shanthi College, Malavalli (2.65 mts), 2. D.N. Manu, PGSC, (2.65 mts), 3. A.P. Sunil Kumar, Shanthi College, Malavalli (2.50 mts); Shot Put: 1. U.L. Venu Prasad, Basudev Somani College, Mysuru (12.77 mts), 2. Masood Ahamed, Sujal FGC, Hassan, (12.33 mts), 3. Umesh, SBRR MFGC, (11.45 mts); 4X100 mts: 1. Rohith Kumar Singh, Suhas S. Gowda, Body Sabu, R. Sagar, Basudev Somani College, Mysore (44.42 sec) (NMR, Previous Record Basudev Somani College, Mysore  in the  year 2016-17, Timings 44.63 sec.), 2. Hemanth, A. Gurumurthy, Sathish, B.I. Nagaraja, PGSC MGM (46.78 sec), 3. R. Nithish, R. Kishore, V. Vinay Kumar, D.R. Lingesh Gowda, Bharathi College, Bharathi Nagar (47.35 sec), Long Jump: 1. Boby Sabu, Basudev Somani college, Mysuru (6.90 mts-NMR), 2. V. Harshith Gowda, Sri Shambulingeshwar College, Pandavapura, 6.63 mts. 3. N.S. Abhishek, GFGC, Bannur, 6.60 mts; 1,500 mts: Deejaj Karumbaiah, Kautilya FGC, (4:16.30 sec), 2. D.R. Lingesh Gowda, Bharathi College, Barathi Nagar, (4:25.55 sec), 3. Nikhil Mathew, Basudev Somani College, Mysuru, (4:31.43 sec); Decathlon: A.S. Madhusudan, PGSC (3837 points), 2. A. Suman Nova PGSC (3798 points), 3. H.S. Sanju, GFGC, Saligrama, (3410 points).

READ ALSO  89th University of Mysore's Inter-Collegiate Athletic Meet: Suhas Gowda emerges 'fastest man'

Women: 10,000 mts: 1. A.P. Rashmi, Govt. College for Women, Maddur (44:07.63 sec), 2. S. Ashwini, Maharani’s Commerce and Management College (44:27.83 sec), 3. G.D. Ranjitha, GFGC, Bilikere (48:26.74 sec); Long Jump: U.J. Sandhya, PGSC (4.53 mts), 2. B. Geetha, GFGC, N’gud (4.31 mts), 3. H.N. Pooja, PGSC (4.16 mts); 400 mts: 1. C.R. Jayashree, Vidyodaya FGC, TN. Pura, 1:07.29 sec, 2. B. Pallavi, Vidyaodaya FGC, T.N.Pura (1:09.19 sec), 3. K.S. Ranjitha, PGSC (1:09.87 sec); 1500 mts: 1. K.S. Megha, Vidyodaya FGC, (5:32.72 sec), 2. P. Sindhu, Vidyodaya FGC (5:40.06 mts). 3. K.Ramya, PGSC (5:47.56 mts); 4X100 mts: 1. C.R. Jayashree, K.S. Bhavya, M. Sahana, K.S. Megha,  Vidyodaya FGC, T.N. Pura (55.90 sec), 2. K.S. Ranjitha, U.J. Sandhya, H.N. Pooja, K.T. Ramaya, PGSC (57.71 sec), 3. Abhinashree, Ramya, Avinashree, Shravya, Teresian College, (58.23 sec); Discus Throw: 1. S.K. Manasa, JSS College for Women, Mysuru (27.34 mts). 2. Meghana Devanga, Maharani Arts College, Mysuru (27.09 mts), 3. I. Ajaya, RIE College,  Mysuru (23.98 mts).

October 16, 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending Posts

Mysuru's favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 39 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it's readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.