‘Acharya Sri Vidyaranya’ Awardees

‘Acharya Sri Vidyaranya’ Awardees

December 4, 2019

Mysuru: As part of Kannada Rajyotsava, Himalaya Foundation had organised a programme at Rotary Hall on JLB Road here on Sunday for the presentation of ‘Acharya Sri Vidyaranya Rajyotsava’ award to achievers in various fields.

The recipients of the award are: Venkataramaiah (Bhajan), Meera Kumar (Traditional Art), V. Sreekantaswamy Dikshit (Education), S. Nagendra Jois (Astrology), Vasudev Agnihotri (Spiritual), N. Mahesh Shenoy (Entrepreneur), D.T. Prakash (Religious Service), Kiran Kumar Shastri and N. Sridhar Dikshit (Devotional).

Presenting the award, Rajashekar Hospital Founder Dr. H.B. Rajashekar opined that the philosophy of Acharya Vidyaranya is a guideline for today’s youth and added that the Acharya upheld Sanathana heritage which was on the verge of extinction.

Speaking on the occasion, Littérateur Dr. C.P. Krishna Kumar recalled that the Acharya was instrumental in the formation of Vijayanagar empire in 14th Century.

Dr. D. Thimmaiah of Dasthi Educational Institutions, writer Prof.  K. Bhyravamurthy, Cultural Patron Gururaj, former District Kannada Sahitya Parishat President Maddikere Gopal and others were present.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]