Akshayakalpa State Open Chess: Thejkumar scores over Balkishan

Akshayakalpa State Open Chess: Thejkumar scores over Balkishan

Grand Master M.S. Thejkumar of Mysuru (2493), playing with white pieces on the top board, yesterday scored a well-earned win over A. Balkishan (2026) and is in joint lead with two other players — D. Yashas and Mysuru’s IM Girish A. Koushik — with six points from six rounds in the Akshayakalpa Karnataka State Open Chess Championships being played at Hotel Woodlands premises in Bengaluru.

Thejkumar had wins over H.S. Chethan, Aarvi Jain, N. Rakesh, N. Raghavendra, C. Halsagar and A. Balkishan.

Other Mysuru players Chaitanya Ganesh (5 pts-34th place), Arnav Muralidhar (5 pts-37th place), L. Vivekananda (4.5 pts-65th place), H.R. Manasa (4.5 pts-82nd place), M. Shivanth (4.5 pts-98th place) have also performed well in the Championships.

April 17, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending Posts

Mysuru's favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 39 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it's readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.