Australian women’s cricket team regain No.1 spot

Australian women’s cricket team regain No.1 spot

March 19, 2018

Australia’s women’s cricket team have reclaimed the No.1 spot on the ICC world rankings after Alyssa Healy’s maiden ODI century helped Australia to a 97-run win and 3-0 series whitewash against India on Sunday.

Captain Meg Lanning elected to bat after winning the toss and Australia set the pace with an innings of 7-332. Healy managed to dig in after quickly losing fellow opener Nicole Bolton (11) and then Meg Lanning (18), reaching 133 off 115 balls before being caught off a Poonam Yadav delivery. Rachael Hayes’ 43 and a rapid 34 from Beth Mooney helped push Australia over 300.

India made a fast start to their chase, reaching 0-101 before two wickets in as many balls to Ashleigh Gardner (3-40). Jess Jonassen and Nicola Carey then claimed the key wickets of Mithali Raj (21) and Harmanpreet Kaur (25).

Although Deepti Sharma (37) and Sushma Verma (29) did their best, the tail was ably cleaned up by Megan Schutt (2-54) and Ellyse Perry (2-40).

Following series win, Australia returns to Mumbai for the Twenty20 tri-series with England and India, which starts on Mar.22.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]