Battle lines drawn for 14 LS seats in Karnataka; Voting on Apr. 18

Battle lines drawn for 14 LS seats in Karnataka; Voting on Apr. 18

March 30, 2019

Bengaluru:  With the deadline for withdrawal of nomination papers for 14 LS seats in State that are going to polls on Apr.18 ending yesterday, the battle lines have been drawn for the first phase of polling in Karnataka.

In Tumakuru, where JD(S) supremo and former PM H.D. Deve Gowda is contesting as JD(S) – Congress coalition candidate, sitting MP Muddahanumegowda, who had filed his nomination as rebel Congress candidate, withdrew his nomination at the last minute yesterday.

Likewise, another Congress leader K.N. Rajanna too withdrew his nomination from Tumakuru, reportedly due to the intervention of the party high command. After deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended at 3 pm yesterday, the poll authorities allotted symbols to all the candidates who have remained in the fray.

Since one EVM can hold only 15 names, the election authorities will have to use two or more EVMs according to the number of candidates in fray in each Constituency. For example in Mysuru-Kodagu and Mandya, there will be two EVMs in each booth as there are 22 candidates contesting the elections from both the Parliamentary seats.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]