Biennial election to seven Legislative Council seats on June 3

Biennial election to seven Legislative Council seats on June 3

May 10, 2022

Bengaluru: The biennial election to the seven Legislative Council seats that will fall vacant in the State will take place on June 3.

Announcing the poll schedule this morning, the Election Commission of India (ECI) in a press release said that the elections to the seven Council seats to be elected by Members of the Legislative Assembly will take place on June 3.

The term of the current MLCs representing these seats will end on June 14.

The MLCs who are completing their terms are Laxman Savadi and Lehar Singh Siroya of the BJP, R.B. Thimmapur, Allam Veerabhadrappa and Veena Achaiah of the Congress and K.V. Narayanaswamy and H.M. Ramesh Gowda of the JD(S).

The notification for the June 3 biennial election will be issued on May 17 and the last date for filing of nomination papers is May 24.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations is May 27.

The polling will take place from 9 am till 4 pm on June 3 and the counting of votes will be taken up at 5 pm the same day, following which the results will be announced.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]