Bijapur wins last ball thriller

Bijapur wins last ball thriller

September 16, 2017

Hubballi: Rain tried it’s best to play spoil-sport in the Match 16 of the Karbonn Smartphones Karnataka Premier League 2017, powered by Cycle Pure Agarbathies, reducing Bengaluru Blasters’ target to 66 in nine overs after Bijapur Bulls had scored 125 for 9 in their 20 overs. But it only added to the drama on the ground.

Vishwanathan, who scored an unbeaten 24-ball 35, looked to have helped Bengaluru reach a position from which they could finally celebrate their first win of the tournament. However, a cracking final over from H.S. Sharath, in which he conceded just five runs and claimed the crucial wicket of Shishir Bhavane (12), helped Bijapur to a thrilling one-run win by the VJD-Method at the KSCA Rajnagar Stadium in Hubballi yesterday.

Victory helped Bijapur – level on points with the three sides above them but with an inferior net run-rate – to the fourth spot on the table.  Just 2.1 overs into Bengaluru’s chase, a steady drizzle turned into a powerful downpour. The delay lasted an hour and 20 minutes. And when play resumed at 10.40pm, Bengaluru had to contend with an energetic Abhimanyu Mithun, who had R. Samarth (5) trapped in front of the wicket. Vishwanathan wasn’t discouraged though. He hammered consecutive fours off H.S. Sharath in the next over and then followed that up with a massive six off K.C. Cariappa.

It meant Bengaluru needed only seven runs going into the final over. But Sharath held his nerve to ensure there were no easy, pressure-relieving boundaries. The big-hitting Vishwanathan could face one ball in the over and when Bhavane was cleaned up in the penultimate ball, Bengaluru needed three off the final ball to win. They managed just one.

READ ALSO  KPL viewership scales new heights

Earlier, Bijapur chose to bat but had a tough time handling the disciplined Bengaluru bowlers. Dikshanshu Negi scored a fine 28-ball 36, but the bowlers adhered to strict lines and lengths to keep Bijapur on the ropes. It meant there was dot-ball pressure, which led to wickets at regular intervals. The first to fall, however, was Mohammed Taha (9), the big-hitter unfortunate to be run-out after miscommunication with skipper Bharat Chipli. Chipli then found the fence a couple of times, but was caught behind attempting a wild heave off V. Koushik.

Negi then came in and found the fence twice in an over off Abhishek Bhat, but M.G. Naveen was another batsman who made a steady start and was unable to build on it, Pranav Bhatia dismissing him for a 16-ball 11. Negi finally had some support when A.M. Kiran walked in. Unfortunately, Prasidh had his number, having him caught behind in the 16th over.

Brief Scores: Bijapur Bulls 125 for 9 in 20 overs (Dikshanshu Negu 36; V. Koushik 2-23, Pranav Bhatia 2-25) beat Bengaluru Blasters 64 for 2 in nine overs (M. Vishwanathan 35 not out, Shishir Bhavane 12; Abhimanyu Mithun 1-15).

Today’s Matches

Belagavi Panthers Vs Namma Shivamogga, 3 pm

Bengaluru Blasters Vs Ballari Tuskers, 7 pm

Venue: Rajnagar Stadium, Hubballi.

NO Match Tomorrow



Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]