By-polls to three MP seats and five MLC seats
Elections 2018, News

By-polls to three MP seats and five MLC seats

Bengaluru: The results of the just concluded Assembly elections has thrown up by-elections to three MP seats and five Legislative Council seats.

Three Members of Parliament (MPs) contested the polls — B.S. Yeddyurappa (BJP – Shivamoga), B. Sriramulu (BJP – Ballari) and C. S. Putaraju (JD-S, Mandya) — and they all have won.

While Yeddyurappa contested from Shikaripura and won, Sriramulu and Puttaraju won from Molakalmuru and Melukote respectively. Sriramulu, however, lost  from his second seat, Badami.

Of the 11 MLCs who entered the fray, five have emerged successful. They include Congress candidates — KPCC President Dr. G. Parameshwara (Koratagere), B.S. Suresh (Hebbal); BJP candidates — K.S. Eshwarappa (Shivamogga), Basanagouda Patil Yatnal (Bijapur City), V. Somanna (Govindaraj Nagar).

Among the losers are Congress’ M.D. Lakshminarayana (Belgaum South), Srinivas Mane (Hangal), Motamma (Mudigere), H.M. Revanna (Channapatna); JD(S)’ C.R. Manohar (Bagepalli) and Independent Somanna Bevinamarad (Shiggaon).

Among the 11 MLCs who contested, four had resigned their MLC seats — Somanna Bevinamarad, Lakshminarayana, Suresh and Yatnal. The term of Eshwarappa and Dr. Parameshwara (both elected by Assembly) ends on June 30, 2020 while the term of Somanna, who too was elected by the Assembly, ends on June 14, 2022. The term of Yatnal (elected by local authority), ends on Jan. 5, 2022.

Though Suresh and Bevinamarad have won, there will be no by-elections to their seats as their term comes to an end on June 17.

May 16, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending Posts

Mysuru's favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 39 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it's readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.