Congress wins Jayanagar

Congress wins Jayanagar

June 13, 2018

Bengaluru: Congress snatched Jayanagar seat in Karnataka Assembly from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) when its candidate Sowmya Reddy was declared elected defeating B.N. Prahlad Babu  by a margin of 2,887 votes this morning.

The counting of votes began at 8 am today and Sowmya had maintained the lead (though narrow) from the initial round.

Sowmya Reddy, daughter of former Home Minister R. Ramalinga Reddy of the Congress had polled 54,458 votes as against 51,571 votes secured by Prahalad.

The election to Jayanagar was countermanded during the May 12 Assembly elections following the demise of BJP candidate B.N. Vijayakumar. BJP in an attempt to gain sympathy vote had fielded his brother Prahalad despite some protest from local Corporators belonging to the BJP.

JD(S) nominee Kalegowda had retired from contesting in favour of the Congress candidate following the formation of the JD(S)-Congress coalition government in Karnataka.

With this win, the Congress strength has gone up to 79 in the  Assembly.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]