Cross-voting: Membership of 5 Hunsur CMC members disqualified

Cross-voting: Membership of 5 Hunsur CMC members disqualified

September 8, 2017

Hunsur: The Deputy Commissioner has disqualified the membership of five Hunsur CMC Congress members on charges of cross-voting in the CMC Presidential polls held in Sept.2016.

The disqualified members are Shivaraj (Ward No. 5), Sunitha Jayarame Gowda (Ward No. 9), H.J. Yoganand (Ward No.10), H.C. Ravikumar (Ward No.18) and Fahimunisa (Ward No.26).

All the five Congress members were charged with voting against the official party candidates M. Shivakumar and P.K. Gulnaz in violation of the party whip in the Hunsur CMC Presidential polls that took place on Sept.9 last year. Following their defeat in the CMC polls even though the Congress had a majority, Shivakumar and Gulnaz moved the DC’s Court seeking disqualification of the five members, who defied the party whip.

The DC, who heard the case, disqualified the five members under Sections 4(1) A & 4(1) B of the Anti-Defection Act, 1987, on Sept.5, 2017. Advocate Mariadas argued on behalf of the defeated Congress candidates. Following the disqualification, the Congress now has 10 members while the JD(S) 9 and Independents-3.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]