Dhoni’s CSK clinches record-equalling 5th IPL title beating GT in final

Dhoni’s CSK clinches record-equalling 5th IPL title beating GT in final

May 30, 2023

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Gujarat Titans (GT) by 5 wickets (DLS) to clinch a record-equalling fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Chasing a revised total of 171 in 15 overs after a long delay due to rain, Devon Conway (47) and Shivam Dube (32*) were the top performers for CSK. While M.S. Dhoni was dismissed for a golden duck, Ravindra Jadeja (15 off 6 balls) kept his calm and finished the encounter in style. Mohit Sharma took three wickets for GT.

Earlier, Sai Sudharsan top-scored with 96 while Wriddhiman Saha slammed another half-century as GT reached a competitive total of 214/4. Matheesha Pathirana took two wickets for CSK.

Thanks to this victory, Dhoni claimed his fifth IPL title as captain — the joint-most along with Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]