‘Dr. P. Gururaja Bhat Award’ for Prof. A.V. Narasimha Murthy

‘Dr. P. Gururaja Bhat Award’ for Prof. A.V. Narasimha Murthy

April 2, 2017

Prof. A.V. Narasimha Murthy, Chairman, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan (BVB), Mysuru and former Head, Department of Ancient History and Archaeology, University of Mysore, has bagged the prestigious P. Gururaja Bhat Award instituted by Udupi-based Dr. Paduru Gururaja Bhat Memorial Trust.

In a press release, the Trust’s Hon. President Prof. P. Sripathi Tantry said that Prof. A.V. Narasimha Murthy has been selected for the award in consideration of his contribution to Indian Archaeology, Ancient History and Numismatics.

Prof. AVN’s name was selected by a 3-member panel of scholars constituted by the Trust. The panel comprised Dr. K. Sudha Rao, farmer Member Secretary of Karnataka Knowledge Commission, Dr. R.S. Deshpande, a former Director of the Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru and Dr. A. Sundar, a renowned Ancient History and   Archaeology Scholar.

Union Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister D.V. Sadanandagowda will confer the award at a programme to be held at Udupi’s Poornaprajna Auditorium at 4.30 pm on Apr. 17. Former Economic Advisor to the Prime Minister Dr. Marpalli Govindarao will preside. The selection panel members Dr. Sudha Rao and Dr. R.S. Deshpande, Mangalore University VC Dr. Bhyrappa will be the chief guests.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]