Hindustan IT&S wins South Zone Cricket title

Hindustan IT&S wins South Zone Cricket title

December 11, 2019

Mysore University retains runners-up position

Inspiring batting by middle-order batsman Adhithya Raghuraman (69, 98b, 3×4, 1×6) and skipper R. Kavin (50, 43b, 3×4, 2×6), ably assisted by some good bowling by medium-pacer N.S. Harish (three for 42), helped Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science (IT&S), Chennai, to register a 29-run win over hosts and last year’s runner-up, University of Mysore (UoM), in the final of the South Zone Inter-University Men’s Cricket Tournament 2019-20, conducted by UoM at SDNR Wadiyar Grounds here yesterday.

Put into bat by UoM, Hindustan IT&S, with useful contributions from Adhithya Raghuraman (69), R. Kavin (50), opener S. Siddarth (38) and Sudan (26), scored 232 for seven in 45 overs.

Leg-spinner Nandan Narayan bowled well for UoM by taking three for 39.

In reply, UoM scored 203 in 41.2 overs and fell short of the target by 29-runs.

Vishnu Priyan (41, 46b, 5×4, 1×6), B. Dheemanth (35, 28b, 6×4, 1×6), Nandan Narayan (32, 41b, 3×4), V. Uttam Gowda (25, 39b, 2×4) and K. Shashank (23, 28b, 2×4) were the scorers.

Medium-pacer N.S. Harish impressed with figures of three for 42. L. Kishan Akash, Samruddh Bhat and P. Ajith Kumar took two wickets each.

UoM’s cricket team receiving the runners-up trophy.

Third place

In the match for the third place, JNTU, Hyderabad, registered a 13-run win over defending champion Jain University, Bengaluru, in the match played at JSS-SJCE Grounds.

The winner Hindustan IT&S, Chennai and runner-up UoM qualified for the All-India Inter-University Cricket Tournament for Men from South Zone.

The prizes were distributed by Prof. G. Hemantha Kumar, Vice-Chancellor, UoM.

READ ALSO  South-Zone Inter-University Cricket: 10-wicket win for University of Mysore

Also present were Association of Indian Universities (AIU) Observer Madhavan, UoM’s Department of Physical Education (DPE) Director (in-charge) Dr. P. Krishnaiah and Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) Mysuru Zone Chairman Harikrishna Kumar.


Final — Hindustan IT&S, Chennai: 232/7 in 45 Overs (Adhithya Raghuraman 69, R. Kavin 50, S. Siddarth 38, S. Sudhan 26, Nandan Narayan 3/39) bt UoM: 203 in 41.2 overs (Vishnu Priyan 41, B. Dheemanth 35, Nandan Narayan 32, V. Uttam Gowda 25, K.Shashank 23, N.S. Harish 3/42, L. Kishan Akash 2/45, Samruddh Bhat 2/28, P. Ajith Kumar 2/25).

Third place match — JNTU, Hyderabad: 279 in 43.5 overs (Prateek Pawar 113, P. Sai Vikas Reddy 52, N. Sandeep 31, Aditya Goyal 3/49, Aditya Somanna 3/26, Aevant Kothari 2/39) bt Jain University, Bengaluru: 266/7 in 45 overs (Sparsh Hegde 91, Arjun Arora 82, Kishore Kamath 29 n.o., B. Akhilesh Reddy 2/./36).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]