Karbonn Smartphones Karnataka Premier League – Season 6: Players’ auction tomorrow

Karbonn Smartphones Karnataka Premier League – Season 6: Players’ auction tomorrow

August 5, 2017

A total of 215 players will go under the hammer during the player auction for the sixth edition of the Karbonn Smartphones Karnataka Premier League at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium tomorrow at 11 am.

Charu Sharma, the reputed sports commentator, will be the auctioneer yet again and will be overseeing the proceeds as the seven franchises – Belagavi Panthers, Bijapur Bulls, Bellary Tuskers, Hubli Tigers, Mysuru Warriors, Namma Shivamogga and Kalyani Blasters Bengaluru compete to get the best of Karnataka’s talents on their rosters.

The players have been divided into two pools. The marquee players, making up a total of 35, will be in Pool A and the remaining 180 KSCA-registered players will make up Pool B. The minimum bid for a Pool A player will be Rs. 50,000 while that for a Pool B will be Rs. 20,000.

Each team will have a maximum purse of Rs. 30 lakh, of which Rs. 18 lakh will be reserved for Pool A and the remaining Rs. 12 lakh for Pool B players.

It is mandatory for franchises to bid for a minimum of two players from Pool A, with each franchise allowed no more than five Pool A players in their team. If a franchise has surplus budget after the Pool A auction, the amount can be carried forward for use in the Pool B auction.

In the event of a Pool A player going unsold in the first round, the said player will be placed under the hammer again after the completion of Pool B. The minimum bid for these players will be Rs. 25,000.  While raising the paddle, each team will have to keep in mind certain steadfast rules regarding team composition, the foremost among them being that each team should comprise a minimum of 15 players and a maximum of 18 players. All teams will also have to mandatorily pick a minimum of two players from their respective catchment areas after the auction with an additional purse of Rs. 20,000 allotted to each franchise for this purpose, over and above the Rs. 30 lakh purse for the auction.

Pool A players: Abhishek Reddy, Abrar Kazi, Akhil Balachandra, Amit Verma, Anirudh Joshi, S. Aravind, K.C. Cariappa, David Mathias, C.M. Gautam, K. Gowtham, Karun Nair, Kunal Kapoor, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Mir Kaunain Abbas, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mitrakanth Yadav, Mohammed Taha, Pavan Deshpande, Pawan, Pradeep, Prasid M. Krishna, Prateek Jain, Praveen Dubey, Rahul, Ronit More, R. Samarth, Sharath, Shishir Bhavane, Shreyas Gopal, Stuart Binny, J. Suchith, Suneel Raju, Vinay Kumar, V. Vyshak.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]