Kodagu District bags Prosperity Award

Kodagu District bags Prosperity Award

October 5, 2017

Madikeri: Kodagu district has bagged first place in the ‘Prosperity’ category in a survey conducted by India Today magazine. Chief Minister Siddharamaiah and Large and Medium Scale  Industries Minister R.V. Deshpande presented the award to Kodagu Deputy Commissioner (DC) Dr. Richard Vincent D’Souza at a ceremony in Bengaluru recently.

Kodagu has bagged first place in agriculture, second place in basic income, third place in education, fourth place in drinking water and cleanliness and fifth place in entrepreneurship and providing basic facilities.

Kodagu is known for its natural beauty and hilly terrain. Coffee, orange, cardamom and pepper are grown in abundance here. The district is also known for its valour as it has produced legends like Field Marshal K.M. Cariappa, General K.S. Thimayya and several other war heroes. Some of the best international hockey players and athletes hail from this place.

River Cauvery, the lifeline of Bengaluru, Mysuru and Tamil Nadu, takes birth here at Talacauvery.  Popularly called Kashmir of the South, tourists throng the district to enjoy nature’s myriad colours.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]