KSCA to host first ever women’s KPL exhibition match

KSCA to host first ever women’s KPL exhibition match

September 21, 2017

Hubballi: Stars of India’s ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 campaign, Veda Krishnamurthy and Rajeshwari Gayakwad, along with international cricketers Karuna Jain and V.R. Vanitha will be in action at Hubballi this Saturday (Sept. 23) for the first ever women’s KPL exhibition T20 match initiated by the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA).

KSCA President’s XI led by Veda Krishnamurthy will take on Rakshitha Krishnappa led KSCA Secretary’s XI at the KSCA Rajnagar Stadium at 11 am.

The match signifies the KSCA’s commitment to support and promote women’s cricket. KSCA will also consider organising a women’s KPL alongside the men’s tournament in the future and Saturday’s match will help the association assess the practicality of such a tournament.

Vinay Mruthyunjaya, KPL Governing Council Member said “KSCA has always supported women’s cricket and it was felt that this was the right time to set a platform for the State’s women cricketers to exhibit their talent. With Saturday’s match, the KSCA will be the first association to showcase women’s cricket in this format of the game at this level. We are looking into the possibility of conducting a women’s KPL along with the men’s tournament. We will also look into the possibilities of inducting other international players of the country in the years to come.”

Entry for the match will be free through Gate No. 3 and 4 of the KSCA Rajnagar Stadium.


KSCA President’s XI: Veda Krishnamurthy (capt), Karuna Jain, Akansha Kohli, Prathyoosha Kumar, Sahana Pawar, Pushpa Kiresur, Soymya M Gowda, Vrinda Dinesh, Chandu V, Shreyanka Patil, Adishree Chengappa, Simren Henry, Anagha Murali.

READ ALSO  KSCA-M. Navin Chandar Memorial Inter-School Tournament: Hrishab shines in Excel Public School's win

KSCA Secretary’s XI: Rakshitha Krishnappa (capt), Divya Gnananand, Vanitha VR, Sanjana Batni, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Vandana Mahajan, Rameshwari Gayakwad, Prathysha C, Debosmitha Dutta, Shubha Satish, Monica Patel, Aditi Rajesh, Shishira Gowda.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]