Mayank, Abhishek propel Hubli to big win

September 9, 2017

Mysuru: Mayank Agarwal and Abhishek Reddy turned on the style against Namma Shivamogga as Hubli Tigers cantered to their third win of the Karbonn Smartphones Karnataka Premier League 2017, powered by Cycle Pure Agarbathies, at the SDNR Wadiyar Stadium here yesterday.

Agarwal (92 not out off 58 balls) and Reddy (67 off 67) put on a stand of 152 as Hubli toppled Shivamogga’s 166 for 6 in 19.2 overs, finishing at 169 for 3.

Shivamogga had set Hubli a tricky target, but the start provided by Agarwal and Reddy ensured the job was much easier that it could have been. Agarwal made a statement in the very first delivery of the innings with a cracking cover drive off T. Pradeep. Abhishek Reddy made his intentions clear in the next over, with a heave for four off Somanna. The two never really eased off thereafter, no bowler was spared, and both pace and spin was treated with equal disdain.

Stuart Binny stars for Bengaluru Blasters

In the earlier match, Stuart Binny’s all-round performance of 87 and two for 37, helped Belagavi Panthers to register a good 23-run win over Bengaluru Blasters. Needing 193-runs to win, Bengaluru Blasters rallied well, but fell short by 23-runs and ended up scoring 169 in 19.3 overs.

Opener Vishwanth (65, 35b, 2×4, 5×6) and skipper Shishir Bhavane (34, 23b, 5×4) batted well by adding 85 runs for the second wicket, but could not help team to cross the line. Kishore Kamat bowled his leg-spinners well to pick up four for 26.

Earlier, Belagavi Panthers won the toss and electing to bat, got off to a shaky start (15/1) losing Kaunain Abbas (5). Three wickets fell in a heap when No. 3 batsman, Shashindra (3), Naga Bharath (1) and opener B.R. Sharath (19) departed, which left Belagavi Panthers struggling at 32 for four in 6.5 overs.

READ ALSO  KSCA conducts selection trials for State Under-19 cricket team

The experienced Stuart Binny and S. Rakshith batted sensibly and added 50-runs which retrieved the team’s position to some extent. Stuart Binny and S. Rakshith (29, 23b, 1×4, 1×6) were involved in a vital stand of 89-runs partnership. Later Binny and Stalin Hoover (20, 8b, 1×4, 2×6) added 40 useful runs in just 16 balls.

Stuart Binny scored a valuable 87 (46b, 8×4, 5×6) and Belagavi Panthers ended up scoring the highest team total in this edition tournament by posting 192 for seven in 20 overs.

Brief Scores: Namma Shivamogga 166 for six in 20 overs (R. Jonathan 69 n.o, Anirudha  A Joshi 31, Shoaib Manager 26, Abhishek Sakuja two for 25, Kranthi Kumar two for 41) lost to Hubli Tigers 169 for three in 19.2 overs (Mayank Agarwal  92 n.o., Abhishek Reddy 67).

Belagavi Panthers 192 for seven in 20 overs (Stuart Binny 87, S. Rakshith 29 Abhishek Bhat two for 22, Prasidh M. Krishna two for 50 ) beat Bengaluru Blasters 169 in 19.3 overs (M. Vishwanath 65, Shishir Bhavane 34, Kishore Kamat four for 26, Stalin Hoover two for 21, Stuart Binny two for 37).

Today’s Matches

Ballari Tuskers Vs Bijapur Bulls, 3pm

Mysuru Warriors Vs Belagavi Panthers, 7pm

Venue: SDNR Wadiyar Stadium, Manasagangothri, Mysuru.

Tomorrow’s Matches

Bijapur Bulls Vs Hubli Tigers, 3 pm

Mysuru Warrior Vs Ballari Tuskers, 7 pm

Venue: SDNR Wadiyar Stadium, Manasagangothri, Mysuru.



Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]