MLC by-election on June 30

MLC by-election on June 30

June 7, 2023

Bengaluru: The by-election to three vacant seats in the State Legislative Council will take place on June 30. The by-elections have been necessitated following the resignation of Baburao Chinchanasur, Laxman Savadi and R. Shankar, who quit their seats to contest the May 10 Assembly elections. The term of Chinchanasur was to end on June 17,  2024, that of R. Shankar on June 30, 2026 and that of Savadi on June 14, 2028.

The poll notification will be issued on June 13 and the last date for filing of nomination is June 20. The scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on June 21 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination is June 23. The polling, in which only MLAs can take part, will be held on June 30 (9 am to 4 pm).

According to the current numerical strength in the State Assembly, the Congress can win two seats and the BJP one.  The ruling Congress is certain to field Minister N.S. Boseraju, who is not a member of either of the houses, for one seat, while keeping its option open for the other seat that it can win.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]