More than a hundred take part in NaMo Cup Chess Tournament

More than a hundred take part in NaMo Cup Chess Tournament

November 29, 2021

Mysore/Mysuru: In a bid to promote sports and sportsmanship, the City Unit of BJP Yuva Morcha had organised a State-level NaMo Cup Open Chess Tournament for different age groups at the BJP office in Chamarajapuram here yesterday.

City BJP President T.S. Srivatsa inaugurated the tournament that was organised in association with First Move Trust. The tournament was open to age groups ranging from 5 to 65 years. More than 110 Chess players from Mysuru, Mandya, Bengaluru, Hassan, Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Chamarajanagar, Shivamogga and other districts took part in the one-day tournament.

Speaking on the occasion, T.S. Srivatsa said that the BJP, apart from being a political party, is also engaged in promoting sports, sportsmanship and sportsman spirit among the population.

Pointing out that this tournament was organised for the first time  based on the aspirations of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, he said that sportsmanship will help in developing a sense of oneness among people.

Chess Grand Master M.S. Thejkumar, First Move Trust President D.J. Ravikiran, Secretary M. Bharat, MUDA Chairman H.V. Rajeev, BJP leader M.V. Ravishankar, City BJP Yuva Morcha President Kirangowda, office-bearers B.M. Santosh Kumar, Kartik, Arun, Harsha, Ramesh, Jayashankar,  and others were present.

Children playing a match at State-level NaMo Cup Chess Tournament.

Prize winners

Mysuru’s M.D. Chiranth – 1st prize (Rs. 4,000); M. Shivanth – 2nd (Rs. 3,000); Bengaluru’ s Vikrant Krishnakumar – 3rd (Rs. 2,500); Tumakuru’s J. Diskhit – 4th; Mandya’s V.P.S. Darshan – 5th; Chitradurga’s N. Tejaswi- 6th; Mysuru’s A. Balakishan – 7th; Shivamogga’s Vinayak B. Harival- 8th; Mysuru’s Nitinpal – 9th and Hassan’s K.M. Prajwal – 10th.

READ ALSO  Open Chess Tournament

Mysuru’s Dhatri Umesh was adjudged the best among women while Mysuru’s M.U. Tejas among men and Chikkamagalur’s Manjunath Prasad among veterans.

Under-13 Boys: Bengaluru’s Vivan Sachdev – 1st; Dakshina Kannada’ P.G. Pranav – 2nd; Kadur’s K. Haripreeth Gurukar – 3rd; Mysuru’s N.C. Gambeer – 4th and M. Akul Anand – 5th.

U-13 Girls: Shivamogga’s B.G. Ebanni – 1st; Mysuru’s Sharadhishetty – 2nd; Udupi’s U.A. Disha – 3rd; Chamarajanagar’s Akarsha Kishore – 4th and Mysuru’s Yashika R. Joshi – 5th.

U-10 Boys: Mysuru’s Vihan Venugopal – 1st, Ishaan – 2nd, Sathvik Vishwanath – 3rd,  Arush S. Gowda – 4th and Nivan Raghavendra – 5th.

U-10 Girls: Mysuru’s Diya Umesh – 1st, Druthi Madhusudan – 2nd, Miraya Vijayakrishna – 3rd, Sulya’s D.S. Avani – 4th and Mysuru’s Y.S. Lithanya – 5th.

U-8 Boys: R. Shreyas – 1st, Mysuru’s R. Devadarshan – 2nd, Eshwar Veerappan – 3rd, Bengaluru’s Arav Sarbaliya – 4th and Madikeri’s K.S. Chinmith – 5th.

U-8 Girls: Dharamashthala’s U.D. Aradhya – 1st and S. Niharika – 2nd, Chitradurga’s M.S. Sinchana – 3rd, Mysuru’s Siri S. Chandra – 4th, Tamil Nadu’s Rajeshwari Ayyappan – 5th.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]