Mumbai Indians lift 4th IPL trophy

Mumbai Indians lift 4th IPL trophy

May 13, 2019

Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in a thrilling encounter by one run to lift their 4th Indian Premier League (IPL) trophy.

Needing nine to win off six balls, CSK’s star performer Shane Watson (80 off 59) got run out. Thereafter, veteran Lasith Malinga became the saviour for MI as he bowled tight lines to turn the tide in his side’s favour.

Earlier, at one point CSK were cruising but MI bowlers took wickets in quick succession to bring their side back in the match.

The biggest turning of the match was probably the run out of CSK skipper M.S. Dhoni from where CSK didn’t recover completely. But Shane Watson brought them back in the game when he dispatched Malinga for three sixes in the 18th over.  Jasprit Bumrah bowled a brilliant 19th over wherein he gave just nine runs.

Cricket-frenzy crowd watching the finale of IPL-2019 that was telecast live on the giant screen installed at Vivo IPL Fan Park set up in SJCE campus in Mysuru last night.

MI skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat in IPL 2019 Final against CSK. Quinton de Kock (29 off 17) and Rohit Sharma (15 off 14) got Mumbai Indians to a solid start. de Kock was more explosive of the two batsmen and struck three sixes off Deepak Chahar in the fourth over of their innings. de Kock fell in the very next over off the bowling of Shardul Thakur.

Deepak Chahar came back strongly in his next over as he dismissed Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma and put Mumbai Indians on the backfoot. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan built a decent partnership and when things were looking  good for them, they both fell in quick succession.

READ ALSO  RCB wins over KXIP Stays in race for playoffs

Birthday boy Kieron Pollard, who turned 32, played a brilliant knock (41 off 25 balls) to help his side reach a respectable total of 149/8.

Jasprit Bumrah was chosen as the Man of the Final. Andre Russell was chosen as the Most Valuable player of the Tournament. Imran Tahir (Purple cap) for the highest number of wickets. David Warner (Orange Cap) for the highest number of runs. Rahul Chahar – the Gamechanger of the Season. K.L. Rahul, Stylish Player of the Season. Andree Russell – Season’s Super Striker. Kieron Pollard – Perfect Catch of the Season. Hardik Pandya – Fastest Fifty of the Season. Fairplay award – Sunrisers Hyderabad. Shubman Gill – Emerging Player of the Tournament. Pitch and Ground Trophy — Punjab (Mohali) and Hyderabad bag the award.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]