Mysuru Kannada Ratna Awards conferred

Mysuru Kannada Ratna Awards conferred

November 16, 2021

Mysore/Mysuru: Chamaraja MLA L. Nagendra conferred ‘Mysuru Kannada Ratna’ Awards on 27 achievers from different fields at a programme organised jointly by Pragathi Pratishtana and Mysuru Kannada Vedike at Rotary Hall on JLB Road here on Sunday.

Speaking on the occasion, Nagendra said that Mysuru has its own identity and pride amongst the comity of cities around the world. Pointing out that the State was called as Mysore State until the 1970s when the then Chief Minister D. Devaraj Urs renamed it as Karnataka State, he said that Kannada was now under threat in the Capital City of Bengaluru.

Noting that non-Kannadigas have outnumbered Kannadigas in Bengaluru and other border districts, he said that it is the will and struggle of Kannada activists that the language of the land is still safe.

Maintaining that Mysuru is the fastest growing city after Bengaluru, he said that Mysuru is rightly called as the Cultural  Capital of the State for all its rich culture, tradition and heritage. It is the responsibility of everyone to maintain this unique identity of the city, he added.

Senior writer Bannur K. Raju, in his address, said that Kannada is very much part of our life and living. Bemoaning that Kannada is being neglected by Kannadigas themselves, he contended that it is the responsibility of every Kannadiga to ensure that the language retains its richness.

He also highlighted the need for teaching Kannada to non-Kannada speaking communities in the State.

Pragathi Pratishtana President Dr. Ajay Kumar Jain, Mysuru  Kannada Vedike President Balakrishna, Nalabeedi Ravi and others were present.

READ ALSO  Pulse Polio drive begins

The awardees are: Dr. M. Mahesh Chikkalguru (writer), D.N. Krishnamurthy (senior writer), B.R. Savitha (photojournalist), Bank Puttaswamy (senior activist), H. Beerappa (Samaja Jagruta Vedike President), M.R. Harish (Mirle Gram Panchayat Member), Rani Triyambika (adventure sports trainer), E. Kandavelu (education), H. Ramanna (Forest Department), M.R. Lokesh Maddur (fine arts), S.H. Parikshit Hegde (child prodigy), Vid. Guruprasad and Vidu. Parvathi Joshi (both music field), Jyothi Reddy (Bhagirathi), Chouhalli Puttaswamy, Anand Mandoth, Devendra Kumar, Shashikala, Ln. H.C. Prakash Babu, Mysuru Beauticians Welfare Association President Veda Rai, Mysuru Beauticians Welfare Association Vice-President Nutan Nanda, Mysuru Beauticians Welfare Association Committee Member R. Malini, Nishita Krishnaswamy, Chandregowda, Neela Pampavathi, Ambika and B. Shivalankaraiah (all social workers).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]