South Zone Inter-University Cricket Tournament from Jan.14 to 23

South Zone Inter-University Cricket Tournament from Jan.14 to 23

January 2, 2019

The South Zone Inter-University Cricket (Men) Tournament 2018-19 is being organised by Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU), Belagavi, at Jawaharlal Nehru National College of Engineering (JNNCE), Shivamogga and VTU Post Graduate Centre, Mysuru, from Jan.14 to 23.

In total, 92 teams from Universities in Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra and Union Territory of Pondichery will be participating in the Tournament. 

The matches are being played at eight grounds (6 Turf and 2 Matting) in Shivamogga and four grounds (2 Turf and 2 Matting) in Mysuru.

In Mysuru, a total of 22 matches of 25 Overs a side will be conducted from Jan.14-18.

One team from 23 teams will qualify to play Quarter Finals at Shivamogga from Jan.20. The Pre-Quarterfinal will be the last Match scheduled at SDNR Wadiyar Grounds in Mysuru on Jan.18 from 9 am to 1 pm.

In total 1,500 players and 400 Officials are expected to participate in this 10-day carnival of Cricket. The Tourney will be inaugurated by Vinay Kumar, Captain, Karnataka Ranaji Team and Indian Fast Bowler, at JNNCE in Shivamogga on Jan.14 at 5 pm.

The University of Mysore, Mysuru, team will play its first match on Jan.14 at SDNR Wadiyar Grounds at 1 pm against Vels Institute of Science, Technology & Advanced Studies, Chennai.

In Mysuru, Karnataka State Open University (KSOU) Students’ Hostel, Guest House will be accommodating around 352 players and 100 officials. The Association of Cricket Umpires, Mysuru, will be extending the services of qualified match officials for all the matches in Mysuru.

For information, contact Mob: 87920-56770 (H.N. Shankaranarayana, Joint Convener, Mysuru), according to a release.

READ ALSO  VTU Inter-collegiate Volleyball Tournament from Mar. 25

Pool ‘D’ matches in Mysuru

While the Pool A, B and C matches will be played in Shivamogga, the Pool D matches will be held in Mysuru.

The matches, to held on a knock-out basis, will be played at SDNR Wadiyar Grounds, JSS-SJCE Grounds, Gangothri Grounds and Maharaja’s College Grounds in Mysuru. A total of 24 teams will be taking part in the Pool ‘D’ matches with University of Mysore (UoM), MG University – Kottayam, Bharathidasan University, Annamalai University, Madurai Kamaraj University, Karnatak University – Dharwad being the top teams in the fray.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]