Sports Meet for scribes conclude

Sports Meet for scribes conclude

June 18, 2018

The two-day annual sports meet for scribes organised by Mysuru District Journalists Association (MDJA) concluded at the University of Mysore Sports Pavilion Grounds yesterday with prizes being distributed to the winners in various sports.

The prizes were distributed by MLA L. Nagendra at the valedictory function last evening. Speaking on the occasion, Nagendra said that the scribes, apart from giving preference to their profession, should give importance to their family and suggested to hold sports events for scribes monthly instead of annually besides providing entertainment for children.

State-level athlete G.J. Chethan, speaking after being felicitated, called upon the parents to bring their children to the grounds or stadium and involve them (children) in sports, which would help in identifying their talents.

“Sports is as important as education. Participating in sports will help one keep fit mentally and physically,” he said and requested the MLA to establish a stadium in every 10 kms.

MDJA President C.K. Mahendra, General Secretary K.J. Lokesh Babu and others were present during the valedictory.

The winners of various sports are as follows:

50 mts race (Women): Aishwarya – First, Varsha – Second and Chaitra – Third; 100 mts race (Women): Chaitra – First, Supriya – Second and Kavya – Third; Shot-Put (Women): Sudathi – First, Sinchana – Second and Chaitra – Third; Lemon and Spoon Race (Women): Supriya – First, Chaitra – Second and Spoorthi – Third; Lemon and Spoon race (Children): Sanvi – First, Nischita – Second and Samhitha Kodli – Third; Children Division 2: Haricharani – First, Chiranth – Second and Dhanyashri – Third; Children Division 3: Honnidhi – First, Bhavitha – Second and Gagana – Third; Blindfold Game for Seniors: Kumari – First, Kavya – Second and Sahitya – Third; Children Division: Samhitha Kodli – First, Tanav – Second and Preetham Nandi – Third; Rope Game for Girls in Junior-level: Gagana – First, Honnidhi – Second and Sanjan – Third. 100 mts Race (Men): Sagar – First, Gautham – Second and  Sanjay – Third; Shot-Put (Men): Ranjith – First, Sanjay – Second and Nagesh – Third; Shot-Put (Men above 40 years): H.S. Gajendra – First; Beechanahalli Manju – Second and Harishchandra – Third; Rope Game for Children: Manav Samarth – First, Shreshta – Second and Samarth – Third; Junior Level: Suresh – First, Nirmayi – Second and Abhinav Kiran – Third; Shuttle Badminton (Men’s Doubles): Chandrashekar-Shivamurthy Juptimath – Winners and Dilip Choudary-Madhusudhan – Runners-up; Shuttle Badminton (Children Doubles): Shreshta-Bhoomika – Winners and Rajath-Nirmayi – Runners-up; Cricket: R. Krishna and team – Winners and S.K. Chandrashekar and team – Runners-up.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]