UoM wins CMRUT20 State-Level Inter-Varsity Cricket

UoM wins CMRUT20 State-Level Inter-Varsity Cricket

February 18, 2024

CMR University hosted its CMRUT20 Cricket Tournament for Men in collaboration with the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA).

The event, which took place from Feb. 10 to 16, showcased the sporting prowess of 16 Universities from across the State, vying for the prestigious title.

University of Mysore (UoM) won the final of CMRUT20 against PES University by 57 runs.

PES University advanced to the final by defeating Dayananda Sagar University, St. Joseph’s, and CMRU. University of Mysore reached the final by overcoming Presidency, CMRIT and Reva Universities.

The valedictory ceremony, held at the CMRU Cricket Pavilion, Lakeside Campus in Bagalur, Bengaluru, was attended by Dodda Ganesh, former Indian Cricketer, as the chief guest.

Joining him were notable personalities such as Dr. K.C. Ramamurthy, IPS (retd.), former Member of Parliament and Chairman of CMR University, along with Dr. N.V. Subba Reddy, Pro Vice-Chancellor, CMR University and Dr. R. Praveen, Registrar.

Addressing the gathering, Ganesh emphasised the significance of sportsmanship and cricket in India, commending CMR University for its state-of-the-art Cricket Stadium, capable of hosting various national and international matches. He congratulated all participants and winners for their exemplary performance.

Recently a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed between CMR University and KSCA, further strengthening their collaboration. Under this agreement, KSCA will utilise the ground for its matches for 15 days each month, while CMR University and CMR Group of Institution students will have access for their matches on the remaining days.

Dr. Ramamurthy underscored the commitment to holding the CMRU T20 Tournament on a yearly basis, aimed at fostering the development of more cricketers to represent the country.

READ ALSO  Mysore University Cricket Team

The CMRU Cricket Pavilion, designed by renowned architect Sanjay Mohe, stands as a marvel of architectural brilliance, blending functionality, comfort, and aesthetics seamlessly. With aspirations to become a premier cricketing venue in Bengaluru, the Stadium is poised to host matches at both national and international levels.

As a token of appreciation, the Tournament winners were presented with trophies, medals and cash prizes, with the champions receiving Rs. 25,000, the runners-up Rs. 15,000 and awards were distributed to the best batsman and best bowler of the Tournament.


Champions: University of Mysore; Runners-up: PES University; Best Batsman of the Tournament: B. Dheemanth – University of Mysore (209 Runs); Best Bowler of the Tournament: Thushar Singh – Reva University (8 Wickets).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]