VTU Inter-Collegiate Mysuru Zone Men Basketball Championship: PESCE Mandya emerges Champions

VTU Inter-Collegiate Mysuru Zone Men Basketball Championship: PESCE Mandya emerges Champions

December 20, 2021

NIE Mysuru secures runners-up trophy

VTU Inter-Collegiate Mysuru Zone Basketball Championship 2021-22 was organised by ATME College of Engineering (ATMCE), Mysuru, in association with Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU), Belagavi, at ATMECE campus.

The Basketball Championship was inaugurated by Dr. C. Venkatesh, Chairman, Department of Studies (DoS) in Physical Education and Sports Sciences

(PE & SS) and L.S. Savitha, International Basketball player. Dr. L. Basavaraj, Principal, ATMECE, presided over the inaugural ceremony.

On the occasion, newly built Basketball Court was inaugurated by the guests.

H.C. Sudina, Officiating Mysuru Zone Regional Director, VTU, Dr. G. Rathnakar, Sports Committee Chairman, ATMECE, Dr.  M.P. Muralidhar, Convener & Director of Physical Education, ATMECE, Mysuru, were also present at the event.

Dr. Venkatesh spoke on the fundamentals of basketball and he opined that the rural players are better than urban players if they are well-trained by the experts by giving the example of L.S. Savitha, who was the guest of honour.

L.S. Savitha too addressed the gathering and asked the young budding players to focus on the fitness aspects and try to achieve better in the field of sports to take sports as a profession.

Picture shows NIE, Mysuru, team which won runners-up trophy.

A total of 10 teams took part in the Championship — ATMECE, Mysuru (host college), Vidyavardhaka College of Engineering (VVCE), Mysuru, National Institute of Engineering (NIE), Mysuru, PES College of Engineering (PESCE), Mandya, Maharaja Institute of Technology (MIT), Mysuru and Thandavapura, Ghousia College of Engineering (GCE), Ramanagara, Vidya Vikas Institute of Engineering and Technology (VVIET), Mysuru and Coorg Institute of Technology (CIT), Ponnampet.

READ ALSO  20th VTU Inter-Collegiate Athletic Championship: Rohan Devaiah fares well

In the final clash, PESCE, Mandya, beat NIE, Mysuru.

Prathik of NIE, Mysuru, was awarded the ‘Best All-Rounder’ titled while Chinthan Gowda of PESCE, Mandya, was awarded ‘Best Player of the Championship’ title.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]