Atishaya Mahotsava at Kanakagiri from tomorrow

Atishaya Mahotsava at Kanakagiri from tomorrow

April 26, 2022

Formal inauguration by Dr. Veerendra Heggade on April 30

Chamarajanagar: A 9-day ‘Atishaya Mahotsava’ will be held at Kanakagiri, a Jain pilgrimage centre on the outskirts of Maleyur village in the taluk from April 27 to May 5.

Announcing this at a press meet here on Monday, Asha Prabhu and Arun Pandit, members of the ‘Atishaya Mahotsava’ Committee, said that Silver Jubilee celebrations of Swastisri Bhuvanakeerti  Bhattaraka Swamiji’s coronation will be held on April 29 and Mastabhisheka of Sri Bahubaliswamy on May 1 which are the main events of the Mahotsava.

“Ever since the coronation of Sri Bhuvanakeerti Bhattaraka Swamiji, the pilgrimage centre has seen big development exceeding expectations and thereby becoming one of the fastest developing Jain religious centres. Because of this, a ‘Guruvandana’ event has been organised to celebrate the Silver Jubilee year of his coronation on April 29 at 10.30 am,” they said

Amoghakeerti Munimaharaj, Amarakeerti Munimaharaj, Swastisri Charukeerti Bhattaraka Swamiji of Srikshetra Shravanabelagola, along with Lingayat-Veerashaiva Mutt Seers — Harave Sarpabhushana Swamiji, Somahalli Siddamalla Swamiji, Devanur Mahanta Swamiji, Immadi Murugharajendra Swamiji, Chamarajanagar Channabasavaraja Swamiji — will grace the occasion.

Bharatiya Jain Milan President D. Surendra Kumar and Jain community leaders will participate in the function.

The main event of ‘Atishaya Mahtsava,’ Mahamastakabhisheka to Bhagavan Sri Bahubaliswamy will start from May 1 and will go on till May 5.

Vaishali Prabhu, Shailendrakumar, Vinodkumar and Siddarth Jain of Publicity Committee were present during the press meet.

Formal inauguration

Dharmasthala Dharmadhikari Padma Vibhushan Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade will formally inaugurate the Mahotsava on April 30. On the occasion, BJP National Secretary B.L. Santosh will inaugurate Gurubhavan Tourism Minister Anand Singh will inaugurate Dhyana Mandira.

READ ALSO  Mysuru district reports 149 fresh COVID cases, five deaths on Monday

Chamarajanagar Minister V. Somanna, MP Sreenivasa Prasad, MLAs Puttarangashetty, C.S. Niranjan Kumar and S.A. Ramdas, former MP C.H. Vijayashankar and Maleyur Gram Panchyat President Puttaswamy will participate.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]