Car War…
Feature Articles

Car War…

August 19, 2017

Mysuru is slowly but steadily becoming an autocross hotspot. Being home to renowned rallyists including Lohitt Urs, Palguna Urs, Abdul Wahid and N. Prasad, the city has been making its own name in the Indian Racing Circuit. Recently, Automotive Sports Club of Mysuru had organised Mysore Gravel Fest – 2017 that attracted over 70 participants from all over the country. This Weekend Star Supplement gives a racy picture of the car war which was a big hit among city autocross enthusiasts.

Autocross enthusiasts go gaga over…

Mysore Gravel Fest

It is a known fact that motor-sports did not have a good beginning in our country as it took many years for cars to just to make an appearance. It was only Kings and the rich who could afford cars while it was a dream for a common man to own one.

It was during 1970s that motor-sports was introduced in India during which the Western India Automobile Association (WIAA) in Mumbai conducted the 7,000 km All India Highway Motor Rally based on Monte Carlo Rally. It was to be completed in a week’s time and formed part of the silver jubilee celebrations of India’s independence. Subsequently, mortor-sport gained popularity in the country and many took to racing.

Mysuru, which has been catching up with the latest trends in autocross activities, along with Bengaluru and Coimbatore, has been the epicentre of motor-sport-related activities. The city is home to national champions like Abdul Wahid, Lohitt Urs, Palguna Urs, N. Prasad and has a potential to bring out more such talents.

Over a period of time, motor-sports have reduced in our city despite having many enthusiasts who wish to make a name for themselves in the autocross circuit. In an effort to revive this ageless sport, several like-minded individuals, with keen interest and experience in motor racing, have come together to form Automotive Sports Club of Mysuru (ASCOM)

READ ALSO  IPL SEASON 10: Celebrating a decade of IPL

ASCOM, in an effort to put the city in the racing the map, had organised Mysore Gravel Fest 2017 Sunday last at the ground located near the Lalitha Mahal Palace Helipad.

The event was flagged off with 1,110 cc cars starting the line-up. The entire track was barricaded to prevent spectators from entering the racing the area. Participants, who had come from all over the country, were overwhelmed to see ace drivers Rahul Kantharaj, Dhruva, Suhem Kabir taking part.

Mysore Gravel Fest is one of most successful and well-organised autocross in Indian Federation of Motor-sport. The event has received appreciation from participants as well many motor-sport enthusiasts. Mysuru’s own rallyist Lohitt Urs gave a demo of the newly-released Jeep Compas and Subaru Impressa to the crowd.

The ASCOM had announced Rs. 1 lakh cash prize along with a 4-ft trophy for the first time in the history of Karnataka motor-sport which was won by Kongetira Bopaiah of Kodagu.

The winners in each category received silver plate as a memento along with a certificate and cash prize of Rs. 10,000, Rs. 5,000 and Rs. 3,000 respectively. Veteran drivers from the motor-sport federation Asgar Ali/ Yathiraj Bhagvan, Dilip, Vishwanath, Somendar Singh, Srikanth, Jangir graced the occasion.


Sl             Driver’s Name   Vehicle City        Timing

Over 1100 cc Upto 1,400 cc Classification

1              Ravikiran Gowda              Maruti Esteem  Mysuru                00:02:17.134

2              Chethan Shivaram           Maruti Esteem  Bengaluru           00:02:17.184

3              Syed Salman Ahmed      Maruti Esteem  Mysore                00:02:17.810

Ravikiran Gowda, Chethan Shivaram, Syed Salman Ahmed, who were placed first, second and third in Upto 1400 CC classification are seen with their trophies.

Over 1,400 cc Up to 1,650 cc

READ ALSO  Indian Premier League 2018: A Decade of 20-20

1              C. Druva               Honda City          Bengaluru           00:02:08.121

2              K.M. Bopaiah     VW Polo               Kodagu 00:02:09.706

3              Syed Salman Ahmed      VW Polo               Mysuru                00:02:11.180

SUV Open Class Classification

1              Suhem Kabeer  Toyota Prado     Kodagu 00:02:14.222

2              I.B. Nanaiah        Izuzu V-Cross     Kodagu 00:02:17.436

3              Gagan Karumbiah            Maruti Gypsy     Kodagu 00:02:19.950

Suhem Kabeer, I.B. Nanaiah and Gagan Karumbiah who ended up in first, second and third places in the SUV Open Class Classification are seen posing with their trophies.

Unrestricted Class Classification

1              K.M. Bopaiah     VW Polo               Kodagu 00:02:05.499

2              Syed Salman Ahmed      VW Polo               Mysuru                00:02:08.248

3              C. Druva               Honda City          Bengaluru           00:02:08.475

Ladies Open Class Classification

1              Harshitha Gowda             Maruti Esteem  Bengaluru           00:02:29.395

2              Kiran V. Gowda Honda City          Mysuru                00:02:54.779

3              Mekala Kagli       Toyota Prado     Mysuru                00:04:06.570

Johnson of JO1 Rallying is seen receiving the Best Turner Trophy along with his team.

Mysuru Local Open Classification

1              Ravikiran Gowda              Maruti Esteem  Mysuru                00:02:15.900

2              N.A. Appanna    Maruti Esteem  Mysuru                00:02:23.269

3              R. Varun               Honda City          Mysuru                00:02:24.579

Indian Open Class Classification

1              K. M. Bopaiah    VW Polo               Kodagu 00:02:05.439

2              C. Druva               Honda City          Bengaluru           00:02:06.443

3              B. G. Den Thimmaiah      Maruti Swift       Kodagu 00:02:09.177

Fastest Driver of the Day

1              K. M. Bopaiah    VW Polo               Kodagu 00:02:05.439

Kongetira Bopaiah of Kodagu lifted the Fastest Driver Trophy


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]