Chosen for President’s Police Medal

Chosen for President’s Police Medal

August 16, 2020

Bengaluru: Nineteen Police Officers from the State, including Mysuru Police Training School Dy. SP Umesh Panitadaka, Srirangapatna Dy. SP Arun Nagegowda, Somwarpet Dy.SP H.M. Shylendra and Madikeri Rural Police Station Inspector Diwakar have been selected for the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished and Meritorious Service. 

The President’s medals were announced on the occasion of Independence Day yesterday and the date of presenting the medals would be announced soon.

Srirangapatna Dy.SP Arun  Nagegowda, while serving as a Sub-Inspector in Bengaluru city, was a terror to anti-social elements. While he was serving under Abdul Azeem, a strict Police Officer, Arun Nagegowda had encountered two persons involved in rape and murder cases, thus becoming a terror to anti-social elements.

While serving as the Inspector at Vijayanagar, Devaraja and also at many Traffic Police Stations in Mysuru, he was successful in solving many cases.

After being posted as Srirangapatna Deputy Superintendent of Police, Arun Nagegowda had arrested two highway dacoit gangs, who had become a headache to the Police.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]