Dadagiri begins at BCCI

Dadagiri begins at BCCI

October 23, 2019

One of India’s most decorated captains Sourav Ganguly, affectionately known as Dada (meaning “elder brother” in Bengali), took over as the 39th President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) during its Annual General Meeting in Mumbai today. The election also means that the 33-month reign of Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) came to an end.

Ganguly is a unanimous choice for BCCI President’s post with Jay Shah, Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s son, taking charge as Secretary and Mahim Verma of Uttarakhand as the new Vice-President.

Sourav Ganguly taking over as the 39th President of the BCCI during its Annual General Meeting in Mumbai today.

Former BCCI President and current Union Minister of State for Finance Anurag Thakur’s younger brother Arun Dhumal will be the new Treasurer and Kerala’s Jayesh George is the Joint Secretary.

The former Indian skipper will have a curtailed tenure of around nine months as he would need to demit office by the end of July 2020. This will be in consonance with the provisions of BCCI’s new Constitution which makes ‘Cooling-Off’ period mandatory after six years in office.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]