Disqualified MLAs move SC

Disqualified MLAs move SC

August 2, 2019

New Delhi: Maintaining that the then Karnataka Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar’s order disqualifying them was wrong, arbitrary and malafide, 15 disqualified MLAs from Congress and JD(S) moved Supreme Court yesterday challenging the Speaker’s decision. 

In a joint petition, disqualified Congress MLAs Pratap Gouda Patil, B.C. Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, S.T. Somashekar, Byrathi Basavaraj and Munirathna  contended that the Speaker’s order passed on July 28 was wholly illegal, arbitrary and malafide. 

Accusing the Speaker of arbitrarily rejecting their resignations, they contended that they had resigned on July 6, but the then Speaker Ramesh Kumar went on to disqualify them on the basis of ‘a wholly misconceived’ petition filed by the Congress party on July 10. 

Three JD(S) members A.H. Vishwanath, K. Gopalaiah and K.C. Narayana Gowda also filed separate writ petitions questioning the validity of the Speaker’s order to disqualify them. 

Similarly, other disqualified Congress MLAs Roshan Baig, Anand Singh, MTB Nagaraj, Dr. K. Sudhakar, Shrimanth Patil and R. Shankar also urged the Court to quash the order passed by the then Speaker. 

Two other rebel Congress legislators Ramesh Jharkiholi and Mahesh Kumatalli had also filed petitions against the order earlier. 


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]