Dr. Shivaram Karanth Award for Dr. S.L. Bhyrappa

Dr. Shivaram Karanth Award for Dr. S.L. Bhyrappa

September 28, 2020

Mysore/Mysuru: The city’s acclaimed writer and Saraswati Samman awardee Dr. S.L. Bhyrappa has been chosen for the prestigious Kota Shivaram Karanth Huttoora Award.

The award is given by Kota Dr. Shivaram Karanth Huttoora Prashasthi Prathishtana, in association with Kotathattu Gram Panchayat, the birthplace of Karanth, to those achievers who have excelled in any of Karanth’s field of interest, for at least 15 years.

The award will be conferred on Oct.10 at a programme to take place at Shivaram Karanth Theme Park at Kota in Udupi district, marking the birth anniversary of the late Jnanpith awardee.

The previous winners of the award are former Chief Minister Dr. M. Veerappa Moily, Justice M.N. Venkatachalaiah, K.Ramakrishna Hande, Senior Journalist Ravi Belagere, Director Girish Kasaravalli, actress B.Jayashri, Dr. M. Mohan Alva, Saalumarada Thimmakka, Chittani Ramachandra Hegde, Jayant Kaikini, Sadanand Suvarna, Dr. B.M. Hegde, actor Prakash Rai, Shree Padre and  Kavita Mishra.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]