Golf: Winners of Maharaja’s Cup

Golf: Winners of Maharaja’s Cup

November 8, 2022

Following are the prize winners of Sri Jayachamaraja Wadiyar Memorial Open Golf Championship-2022 (Maharaja’s Cup) held at J.W. Golf Club in city from Nov. 4 to 6:

Strokeplay Gross (36 Holes): M.G. Chengappa (147 Gross) – Winner; Vidhatri K. Urs (148 Gross) – Runner.

[Challenge Cup – Donated by Jayachamaraja Wadiyar, Maharaja of Mysore (1957)]

Strokeplay Gross (H/C 10<=18) (36 Holes): Yashasvi Shankar (164 Gross) – Winner; K.K. Chengappa (168 Gross) – Runner (Better Back 9 Over K.C. Lokesh Kumar).

[Mysore Race Club Chairman’s Trophy – Donated By M.W. Chinnappa, former                                 Chairman, MRC Ltd.]

Strokeplay Net (H/C 0<=12) (36 Holes): Col. C.P. Medappa (140 Net) – Winner; Shridhar Singh (142 Net) – Runner. [Dr. C.D.S. Challenge Trophy – Donated by Dr. C.D. Srinivas Murthy, former Chairman, MRC Ltd.]

Strokeplay Net (H/C 13<=18) (36 Holes): K.C. Lokesh Kumar (136 Net) – Winner; Jacob Thomas Paul (136 Net) – Runner (Better Back 9 Over Jacob Thomas).

[Mysore Sports Club Rolling Trophy – Donated by F.K. Irani, former President, Mysore Sports Club]

Centenary Championship Trophy (18 Holes – 1st Day): Team JWGC — M.G. Chengappa and Vidhatri K. Urs (148 Gross) – Winner. [Inter-Club Team Event (Gross) – Donated by H. Kusumakar Shetty, former Steward, MRC Ltd.]

Stable Ford Gross Score (18 Holes – 1st day): Tanish R. Gowda (38 Gross) – Winner; Deepak Kumar Jain (28 Gross) – Runner (Better Back 9 Over M. Arjun Ranga).

[Challenge Cup – Donated by Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar (1981)]

Strokeplay Net (H/C 0<=18) (18 Holes – 2nd day): Ranjith Sanath (65 Net) – Winner; Smitha S. Prabhakar (69 Net) – Runner.

READ ALSO  Prize winners of Golf Championship

[Mysore Sports Club Rolling Cup – Donated by Mysore Sports Club]

Stable Ford  Net (H/C 0<=18) (18 Holes – 2nd day): Gp. Capt. H.M.V. Murthy (37 Points) – Winner; K.B. Kushalappa (36 Points) – Runner (Better Back 9 Over M. Chirayu and Yashasvi Shankar).

[D.H. Dasappa Memorial Trophy – Donated by D. Suresh Dasappa, former Chairman, MRC Ltd.]

Stableford Net (0<=24) (18 Holes – 1st day): M.A. Ponnanna (35 Points) – Winner; K.A. Prabhakar (34 Points) – Runner.

[The Hurricane Stud Trophy for Senior Golfers above 65 years – Donated by D. Kumar Siddanna]

Stable Ford Net (0<=24) (18 Holes – 1st day): Anupama Vatal (34 Points) – Winner.

[The Best Lady Golfer Trophy – Donated by N.V. Babu, former Chairman, MRC Ltd.]

Strokeplay Net (H/C 0<=24) (18 Holes – 1st day): Karan Mallesh (67 Net) – Winner.

[The Best Maharaja’s Junior Golfer – Donated by M.L. Kantharaj Urs, Urs Kar Service Center Pvt. Ltd. and Committee Member, MRC Ltd.]

Stable Ford Net (H/C 0<=24) (18 Holes – 1st day): Brig. R.V. Seetharamaiah (33 Points) – Winner (Better Back 9 Over S.K. Ramalinge Gowda).

[The Best Super Seniors Trophy (for those aged 75 years and above) – Donated by MRC Ltd., Mysuru]

A total of 267 golfers took part in the Championship conducted by MRC Ltd., according to a press release from JWGC Hon. Secretary M.R. Mohan Kumar and Tournament & Handicap Chairman K.S. Sudheer Bhat.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]