<strong>Shet Prajwal bags Dasaprakash Cup </strong><strong>State Chess Championship</strong>

Shet Prajwal bags Dasaprakash Cup State Chess Championship

November 8, 2022

Karnataka State Chess Championship 2022 was organised by Mysore Chess Centre under the aegis of Karnataka State Chess Association. Top four players from this Championship will represent Karnataka in the forthcoming MPL 59th Senior National Chess Championship 2022 to be held in Delhi.

The prestigious event was inaugurated by Dr. Raghavendra Prasad, Managing Director of Bhamys Constructions, at Hotel Paradise in city, in the presence of C.K. Muralidhar of Mysore District Chess Association, International Master (IM) Ravi Hegde, Vishawanath Das, Managing Director, Dasaprakash Group of Hotels, Dr. Chandra, President, RMB, Nagendra Muralidhar, Director, Mysore Chess Centre, V. Raghavendra, Vice-President of KSCA.

The four-day Championship attracted 155 players from various part of the State. Out of which, 100 players were FIDE rated. The Tournament was conducted in Swiss League system and consisted of eight rounds.

Former State Champion N. Sanjay of Bengaluru was the top seed with ELO rating 2295, followed by FM Niranjan Navlgund (2246) of Belagavi.

At the end of 8th round, P. Shet Prajwal, student of JSS Medical College, Mysuru and N. Sanjay (Income Tax) of Bengaluru scored 7 points and with better tie-break, Shet Prajwal clinched the Dasaprakash Cup Karnataka State Chess Championship-2022. The prize fund was total Rs. 3,00,000, distributed among the top 30 prize winners. All the prize winners and U-7, U-9, U-11 and U-13 players received attractive trophy. Shet Prajwal, N. Sanjay, Likith Chilkuri and Vivek Nambiar qualified for forthcoming Nationals.

The prizes were distributed by Jaganath, Founder of Mysore District Chess Association, Vijaya Ramesh, veteran athlete, Indira Ballal, former President, Rotary East, Vishwanath Das, Managing Director, Dasaprakash Goup of Hotels, Vivek Nambiar, National Player, International Master (IM) Ravi Hedge and Nagendra Murlidhar, Director, Mysore Chess Centre.

Arbiter team comprising of Deputy Chief Arbiter FA R. Karthik and Asst. Arbiter SNA K.N. Sanjana worked efficiently for smooth conduct of Tournament without any appeal.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]