Kannada Rajyotsava awardee Prof. C. Naganna felicitated

Kannada Rajyotsava awardee Prof. C. Naganna felicitated

November 26, 2023

Mysore/Mysuru: Kannada Rajyotsava awardee Prof. C. Naganna, writer and former University of Mysore (UoM) Prasaranga Director, was warmly felicitated at a programme organised under the joint aegis of Samanate-Swabhimana- Swavalambane Pratishtana and Samanate Prakashana, Mysuru, at Vishwajnani auditorium, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Research and Extension Centre in Manasagangothri campus here yesterday.

Chamarajanagar MP V. Sreenivasa Prasad, who spoke after inaugurating the programme, said that no language can be equal to the language that comes from the womb of the mother. Stressing on the need for getting education in one’s mother tongue, Prasad said that Kannadigas should become more self-esteemed, especially in these days when Kannada is facing threats from other languages.

Underlining the need for unity and integrity whenever Karnataka faces threats in respect of land, water and language, he said that only a non-party and relentless movement can help achieve the desired results that Kannadigas should duly get.

The MP also emphasised on the need for making Kannada mandatory in administration, Lower Courts proceedings and primary education in the State.

Stating that the erstwhile Mysore State was renamed as Karnataka by the then Chief Minister D. Devaraj Urs in 1973, Prasad said, it is a matter of joy  for every Kannadiga when the State is celebrating the Golden Jubilee (Suvarna Sambhrama) of its naming as Karnataka.

He also highlighted that Kannada has been granted the Classical Language status and 8 Kannada writers have bagged the prestigious Jnanpith Award. Perhaps no other language has got this many Jnanpith awards, he added.

Prasad congratulated Prof. C. Naganna for having received the Rajyotsava award (2023) in the Literature category. Prof. Naganna should have been conferred with the award years ago, he added.

READ ALSO  Sir MV Achievement Award presented

Former Kannada faculty Prof. N.S. Taranath delivered the felicitation address. Prof. C. Naganna was felicitated.

Dr. Kalyanasiri Bhanteji of Vishwamaitri Buddha Vihar, Mysuru, graced the occasion.

District Kannada Sahitya Parishat President Maddikere Gopal, Pratishtana Hon. President Dr. Neelagiri Talwar, President Prof. C. Basavaraju, Secretary Dr. Mullur Nanjundaswamy, senior RSS leader M. Venkatram, former Mysuru Urban Development Authority (MUDA) Chairman C. Basavegowda and others were present.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]