Karnataka State Sub-Junior and Junior Aquatic Championships-2018: Nine records tumble on Day-1

Karnataka State Sub-Junior and Junior Aquatic Championships-2018: Nine records tumble on Day-1

June 1, 2018

Mysuru: Nine new records tumbled on Day-1 of the Karnataka State Sub-Junior and Junior Aquatic Championships- 2018 conducted by the Mysore District Swimming Association (MDSA) at the University swimming pool here on Thursday.

Srihari Natraj shines

State and National record holder in Group I boys section, Srihari Natraj, set the pool on fire with a sterling performance in boys 100m backstroke event when he created a new meet record with a timing of 57.04s — thus bettering his own National record (57.33s-2017) and State record of 57.85s set in 2017.

Speaking to SOM, Srihari Natraj of Swimming Research Centre, Bengaluru, said that he expected to go 1.2s better, but an error prevented him for achieving the feat. He said that his aim is to do well in the forthcoming junior nationals and also perform well in the Asian Games and Youth Olympics.

Rachana sets new record

In the girls Group II breaststroke event, Rachana S. R. Rao of Mangala Swimming Club, Mangaluru, created a new meet record by winning the gold with a timing of 1:15.95s. She erased the previous national mark set by Aaliyah Singh (UP-1:17.76s) in the heats in the morning session with a timing of 1:16.03s and bettered it in the final.

Speaking to SOM, Rachana, a 9th standard student of Ramakrishna School, Mangaluru, said “I did not expect to perform so well by creating a National record; good pace set by the competitors in lane three and two helped me increase my speed and emerge victor with a record timing.”

Seven other records were broken by Mohit Venkatesh (Group I boys – 1500m Freestyle), Tanish George Mathew (Group I boys – 200m Butterfly), Suvana C. Baskar (Group I girls – 100m backstroke), Nina Venkatesh (Group II – 100m Backstroke), BSRC ‘A’- Boys Group II, 4x100m Medley. Dolphin Aquatics and in the Girls Group II 4x100m Medley relay.

WAITING IN THE GALLERY: A section of participants and spectators watching the events at Mysore University Swimming Pool in Saraswathipuram.

Results (Winners only)

READ ALSO  Record number of 700 swimmers take part in State Aquatic Championships in city

Boys: Group I

1500m Freestyle: Mohit Venkatesh (BAC – State record- 16:43.48s- Old – Saurabh Sangvekar- BAC- 16:48.06s-2011), 100m Breaststroke: P. Kushal (BSRC-1:10.40), 200m Butterfly – Tanish George Mathew (NMR-2:05.59s-BSRC, Old- 2:06.50-Aaron D’Souza, BAC, 2007), 100m backstroke: Srihari Natraj (NMR-57.04s, BSRC, Old-57.85-self, 2017, bettered NR-57.33-2017), Boys 4x100m Freestyle relay: 1. BSRC ‘A’ (NMR- 3:41.30s – Tanish George Mathew, P. Kaushal, Prasidha A Krishna & Srihari Natraj – old 3:48.11-BAC-2013).

Group II

800m Freestyle: Kapil B. Shetty (Dolphin Aquatics-8:55.26), 100m Breaststroke: R.Harsha (BSRC-1:11.69), 200m Butterfly: Utkarsh S. Patil (BAC-2:21.04), 100m Backstroke: Purvaank Ramesh (BSRC-1:05.46), 4x100m Medley relay: BSRC’A’-NMR-4:21.28s, old 4:22.21s- Dolphin Aquatics-2006).

Group III

200m Freestyle: S. Vishwanathan (Pooja Aquatic centre-2:18.89), 100m Butterfly: S. Dhanush (Vijayanagar Aquatic centre, 1:09.53), 4x50m Freestyle: BAC ‘A’: 2:05.32,

Group IV

100m Freestyle: R.Navaneeth Gowda (Dolphin Aquatics-1:08.91), 50m backstroke: Tanay Suresh (Vijayanagar Aquatic Centre-36.93).


Group I

1500m Freestyle: Khushi Dinesh (BAC-18:18.59), 100m Breaststroke: Saloni Dalal (BAC-1:17.89), 200m Butterfly: G Saachi (BAC-2:30.86), 100m Backstroke: Suvana C. Baskar (NMR-1:08.50-Dolphin Aquatics-Old, K. Harishree J. Rai, 1:09.00, Global, 2014), 4x100m Freestyle: BAC ‘A’-4:18.36).

Group II

800m Freestyle: Divya Ghosh (BSRC-9:59.13), 100m Breaststroke: Rachana S. R. Rao (Mangala Swimming Club-1:15.95s, Old-NR-Aaliyah Singh (UP-1:17.76-2016) & State Record; Saloni Dalal (2015-1:19.58), 200m Butterfly: Anvesha Girish (Vijayanagar Aquatic Centre,2:32.93), 100m Backstroke: Nina Venkatesh (Dolphin Aquatics-NMR-1:07.32, old-Suvarna C. Baskar-1:10.56-2017), 4x100m Medley: Dolphin Aquatics-NMR-4:52.44, old-4:54.01-BAC-2016).

Group III

200m Freestyle: Srishti Satishwar (BAC-2:26.76), 100m Butterfly: Rishika U. Mangala (Vijayanagar Aquatic Centre-1:11.79), 4x50m Freestyle: BAC ‘A’-2:06.78).

Group IV

100m Freestyle: Vihitha Nayana (Pooja Aquatic Centre-1:12.78), 50m Backstroke: Manavi Verma (Dolphin Aquatics Centre-38.81).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]