Karnataka State Sub-Junior, Junior Aquatic Championships: Two new meet records set on Day-3

Karnataka State Sub-Junior, Junior Aquatic Championships: Two new meet records set on Day-3

June 3, 2018

Two new State records were set on the third day of the Karnataka State Sub-Junior and Junior Aquatic Championships, conducted by the Mysore District Swimming Association, at the University Swimming Pool here on Saturday.

Heavy downpour in the evening played spoilsport and disrupted the day three’s proceedings and the events were delayed by two hours and had to be rescheduled by the organisers.

National champ Srihari Natraj of BSRC, produced a splendid performance in the group I Boys 200m Backstroke event, winning in 2:06.73s and rewrote his own mark of 2:07.80 set in 2017.

The day’s second record fell in the Group II Girls 200m Backstroke event with Nina Venkatesh (Dolphin Aquatics) swimming to a gold with a record State timing of 2:32.73. The previous record belonged to Suvana C. Bhaskar (Dolphin, 2:32.78, 2017).

Results (winners only)

Boys – Group I: 50mts Breaststroke: Hiten Mittal (BAC, 33.13), 200mts Backstroke: Srihari Natraj (BSRC, State record, 2:06.73, bettered own record of 2:07.80, Global, 2017), 100mts Freestyle: C.J.Sanjay (Dolphin Aquatics, 54.40).

Group II: 50mts Breaststroke: R. Harsha (BSRC, 33.93), 200mts Backstroke: Dhyan Balakrishna (BAC, 2:20.74)

Group III: 100mts Backstroke: Vidith S. Shankar (Dolphin Aquatics, 1:12.18), 50mts Freestyle: S.Vishwanathan (Pooja Aquatic Centre, 29.47), 50mts Butterfly: S. Dhanush (Vijayanagar Aquatic Centre, 32.14).

Group IV: 50mts Breaststroke: R. Navaneeth Gowda (Dolphin Aquatics, 42.23).

Girls – Group I: 50mts Breaststroke: Saloni Dalal (BAC, 36.96), 200mts Backstroke: Suvana C. Bhaskar (Dolphin Aquatics, 2:32.15), 100mts Freestyle: Khushi Dinesh (BAC, 1:02.24).

Group II: 50mts Backstroke: Rachana S.R. Rao (Mangala Swimming Club, 36.35), 200mts Backstroke: Nina Venkatesh (Dolphin Aquatics, State record, 2:32.73, OR: 2:32.78, Suvana C. Bhaskar, Dolphin, 2017).

READ ALSO  State Sub-Junior and Junior Aquatic Championships: Four new meet record set on Day-2

Group III: 100mts Backstroke: Ridhima Veerendra Kumar ( BAC, 1:14.97), 50mts Freestyle: Alainpaul (Global Swim Team, 31.46). Group IV: 50mts Breaststroke: Vihitha Nayana (Pooja Aquatic Centre, 42.55).


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]