KPL 2018: Shivamogga Lions succumb to Belagavi Panthers

KPL 2018: Shivamogga Lions succumb to Belagavi Panthers

August 30, 2018

Mysuru: A splendid all-round team effort from Belagavi Panthers saw them defeat Shivamogga Lions by five wickets in the ongoing Karnataka Premier League (KPL)-2018 encounter at the SDNR Wadiyar Stadium in city yesterday.

Stuart Binny, captain of Belagavi Panthers put the opposition into bat after winning the toss. Shivamogga Lions posted a total of 163 for 8 in 20 overs.

Shivamogga Lions were staring at yet another poor show when they were 100 for 5 at the end of 15 overs. Only opener Nihal Ullal (34) was able to make useful contributions in the top order. The game turned tables when Anirudha Joshi (54) and skipper Abhimanyu Mithun (23) shared a 24 ball 55 run partnership for the sixth wicket.

Anirudha Joshi 54 (32b,5×4,3×6) with his big hitting abilities made sure that the Lions held their heads high after the conclusion of their innings. Shubang Hegde (1 for 12) got the ball turning and caused concerns for the batsmen as he concluded an economical spell.

In Reply, Belagavi Panthers were well served by opener Dikshanshu Negi who top scored with a stroke-filled 54. He was well supported by S. Rakshith (22) and Stuart Binny (32).

The Shivamogga Lions made a comeback into the match as they dismissed both Negi and Binny within a span of no time. With 45 needed of 32 balls, D. Avinash (35 n.o.), who was dropped twice, was the man that changed the game.

Avinash 35 (17b,4×4,2×6) with his aggressive batting ensured to take Belagavi Panthers over the line as they finished at 166 for 5 in 19.3 overs. Negi was adjudged as the ‘Man of the Match.’

READ ALSO  KPL 2018: Vinay, Praveen shine in Hubli Tigers' win

With this result, the Lions have now suffered their fourth successive loss in this season.


Shivamogga Lions: 163 for 8 in 20 overs (Nihal Ulal 34, Anirudha Joshi 54, Stuart Binny 2 for 30, Shubang Hegde 1 for 12) lost to Belagavi Panthers: 166 for 5 in 19.3 overs (Dikshanshu Negi 54, Stuart Binny 32, D. Avinash 35 n.o., Abhimanyu Mithun 2 for 24).

Man of the Match: Dikshanshu Negi.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]