Legends T10 Cricket Tournament at Gangothri Glades on March 18 and 19

Legends T10 Cricket Tournament at Gangothri Glades on March 18 and 19

March 13, 2022

Mysore/Mysuru: It will be a fun-packed full entertainment for the cricket buffs next weekend as the cricketing legends from both Mysuru and Bengaluru will descend at SDNR Cricket Stadium (Gangothri Glades) for a two-day V. Prabhakar Memorial Legends Cricket T10 Tournament jointly organised by Department of Physical Education, University of Mysore and Navodaya Cricket

Club in memory of legendary cricket coach V. Prabhakar, the founder of Navodaya Cricket Club, on Mar. 18 and 19.

More than 100 cricketers, who have represented Karnataka in various levels including the Ranji Trophy, Universities and Mofussil level will take part in the special tournament.

Senior cricketers M.S. Ravindra, G.V. Ravi, H.S. Mahesh, M.V. Satish, Sunil Kumar Jain, Nirmith Nithyanand, A.V. Sandeep, Prajwal Raj, Sapthagirish, Bharathi Chipli, N.C. Aiayappa, Mithun Berala,                     Rajashekar Shanbal, Somashekar Shiraguppi and others will be seen in action during the two-day tournament.

The matches will be played in the T10 format in which the bowling side will be allowed to field two fielders outside the 30 yard circle in the first two overs of the power play. There will be another power play called the Floating Power Play which shall be taken by the batting side at any time between the 3rd and 9th over.

At total of five teams will take part in the tournament and the top two teams will play the finals.

The tournament will be inaugurated by Prof. G. Hemantha Kumar, Vice-Chancellor, University of Mysore, at 7.30 am on Mar. 18. The valedictory and prize distribution will be held on Mar.19. Former Ranji Trophy Player S. Vijayaprakash will be the chief guest. Director of Department of Physical Education, UoM, Dr. P. Krishnaiah, Navodaya Cricket Club President K.R. Mohan Kumar and Secretary Srinivas Prasad will be present.

READ ALSO  Students stage protest demanding removal of Varsity Registrar

About V. Prabhakar

Founder of Navodaya Cricket Club, V. Prabhakar was instrumental in grooming cricketers at various levels.

Players from Prabhakar Cricket Clinic have gone on to represent Karnataka and University of Mysore in various levels of cricket. Prabhakar also served KSCA in various capacities including the Chairman of Selection Committee, Mysuru Zone.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]