Legislative Council Elections: Mysuru gears up for counting tomorrow

Legislative Council Elections: Mysuru gears up for counting tomorrow

June 11, 2018

Mysuru: The counting of votes cast in the biennial election to the Legislative Council seats from South-Teachers, South-West Teachers and South-West Graduates Constituencies will be taken up at Maharani’s Women’s Commerce and Management College, Valmiki Road junction, Vinayakanagar (Paduvarahalli) at 8 am tomorrow (June 12).

The election to the three Constituencies along with three other Constituencies (North-East Teachers, North-East Graduates and Bengaluru Graduates) was held on June 8.

While South-Teachers Constituency comprises Mysuru, Hassan, Mandya and Chamarajanagar districts, the South-West Teachers Constituency and South-West Graduates Constituency comprises Kodagu, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Chikkamagaluru, Shivamogga and parts of Davanagere districts.

Addressing a press conference at her office on Hunsur Road here this morning, Regional Commissioner (RC) P. Hemalatha, who is also the Electoral Officer for the three Constituencies, said that the counting of votes will begin from 8 am tomorrow.

Regional Commissioner P. Hemalatha is seen addressing the press conference at her office on Hunsur Road this morning.

Reading out the poll statistics of the three Constituencies, the RC said that  16,707 out of 20,677 voters (80.80 percent) had cast their votes in South Teachers Constituency while 16,477 out ofa 20,481 (80.45%) had cast their votes in South-West Teachers and 47,124 out of 67,306 voters (70.01 percent) had cast their votes in South-West Graduates Constituency. While 9 candidates were in the fray in the South Teachers Constituency, there were 12 candidates in South-West Teachers and 8 candidates in South-West Graduates Constituency, Hemalatha said.

Pointing out that the voters were provided with ballot papers to exercise their franchise in order of preference 1,2,3 etc., against the names of the candidates, Hemalatha said that all the ballot papers are bundled with 25 in each bundle.

READ ALSO  Election for South Teachers Constituency Legislative Council seat tomorrow

Stating that 14 tables are assigned for the first round of counting of the three Constituencies, the RC said that a candidate who secures 50% of the total valid first preferential votes polled plus one, will be declared winner.

The counting of the second and subsequential preference of votes will be taken up only if no candidate is declared as the winner in the counting of first preferential votes, she said.

Noting that the completion of counting of first preferential votes may take over four hours, Hemalatha said that the counting of second and subsequent preferential votes may go on till late in the night.

She further said that a total of 435 personnel, including 35 officers, 145 Counting Supervisors and Assistants, 60 supporting counting personnel, 50 Group-D employees, 25 other staff and 120 Police personnel will be deputed for the counting process and no counting personnel will be allowed to leave the centre until the entire counting process is completed and the results declared.

The RC further said that apart from the candidate, only one agent of each candidate will be allowed to witness the counting process in one table.

Tight Police security will be provided all around the counting centre to ensure that no untoward incident takes place when the counting goes on, she added.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]