LS polls: 11 nominations rejected in Mysuru region

LS polls: 11 nominations rejected in Mysuru region

March 28, 2019

Mysuru:  Nominations filed by five candidates were rejected during the scrutiny of nomination papers for Mysuru Lok Sabha constituency yesterday.

A team of election officials including Deputy Commissioner Abhiram G. Sankar, who is also the Returning Officer, took up the scrutiny of 50 sets of nomination papers filed by 30 candidates at the DC’s Office.

According to an official statement, the nomination papers of J.J. Anand, M. Siddaraju, M. Madhu, N.A. Satheesh Pai and Akhil Ahmed have been rejected. The nomination papers of 25 candidates including BJP’s Pratap Simha and Congress party’s C.H. Vijayshankar have been accepted.

In all, the Election Commission has rejected a total of 11 nominations papers from four Lok Sabha segments in Mysuru region. While five papers were rejected from Mysuru-Kodagu seat, three papers were rejected from Hassan, two papers from Mandya and one from Chamarajanagar segment respectively.

In Hassan Lok Sabha segment, out of 10 nominations filed, three have been rejected. The election office had received 18 papers from 10 candidates till Tuesday. The nominations of Independent candidates B.J. Ramesh, Kempaiah and B.P. Kalappa, were rejected.

The papers of JD(S) candidate Prajwal Revanna, son of Public Works Minister H.D. Revanna, BJP candidate A. Manju, Vinodh Raj of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), H.M. Chandregowda of Uttama Prajakeya Party, H.P. Manjunath of Bharatiya Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Party and independents M. Mahesh, R.G. Satish, were accepted.

In Chamarajanagar, the election officer has rejected one nomination paper of 18 papers submitted. A total of 13 candidates had submitted 18 papers. The nomination of S. Govinda Nayak, who had filed papers from Bahujan Kranthi Dal, was rejected. The nominations of other 12 candidates, including R. Dhruvanarayan of Congress and V. Sreenivasa Prasad of BJP, have been accepted.

READ ALSO  Former Minister Suresh Kumar campaigns in City Courts

In Mandya, two nomination papers have been rejected. A total of 27 candidates had filed 37 papers. DC N. Manjushree has rejected one set of nomination paper of D.C. Jayashankar. He had submitted two sets of paper from All India Human Rights Association National Party (AIHRA). Similarly, the nomination of Shambulingegowda, who filed papers to contest as an Independent, was rejected.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations is Mar. 29. A final picture of the candidates left in the fray will become clear after this date.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]