MLC elections: BJP wins 3 seats, JD(S) bags 2, Congress gets 1

MLC elections: BJP wins 3 seats, JD(S) bags 2, Congress gets 1

June 14, 2018

Bengaluru:  The ruling JD(S)-Congress coalition in Karnataka won three of the six Legislative Council seats in the Biennial elections to Teachers and Graduates Constituencies held on June 8 with the BJP bagging three.

The results which were declared yesterday saw the BJP winning three seats, the JD(S) two and the Congress one. While results of South Teachers’ Constituency and South-East Teachers’ Constituency were announced on Tuesday, results to the four other Constituencies were delayed as counting went on till the wee hours of yesterday.

The winners were BJP: Dr. Y.A. Narayanaswamy (South-East Teachers), Ayanur Manjunath (South-West Graduates) and D. Devegowda (Bangalore Graduates) JD(S): S.L. Boje Gowda (South-West Teachers), Marithibbegowda (South Teachers), and the lone victory for the Congress came from Dr. Chandrasekhar Patil (North-East Graduates).

The JD(S) suffered a reverse when its sitting member Ramesh Babu lost to Dr Narayanaswamy of the BJP by a margin of 1,872 votes in South-East Teachers Constituency. The Congress candidate M. Ramappa finished a poor third with 1,943 votes among 14 candidates.

However its nominee Marithibbegowda retained his seat in South Teachers Constituency defeating M. Lakshmana of the Congress by a margin of 4,217 votes.

BJP’s sitting member Capt. Ganesh Karnik tasted defeat in South-West Teachers Constituency losing to Boje Gowda by a margin of 2,885 votes. Former Member of Parliament Ayanur Manjunath of BJP won from Karnataka South-West Graduates Constituency defeating S.P. Dinesh of the Congress by a margin of over 9,000 votes, while in the North-East Graduates Constituency, Dr. Patil defeated K.B. Srinivas of the BJP by a slender margin of 321 votes. A. Devegowda of the BJP won the Bangalore Graduates seat defeating Ramoji Gowda of the Congress by over 4,800 votes.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]