Mysore Races from Aug. 25: Derby-2017 on Oct. 22

Mysore Races from Aug. 25: Derby-2017 on Oct. 22

August 22, 2017

Mysuru: The much awaited Mysore Derby 2017 will be held on Oct. 22 (Sunday) at the Mysore Race Course, said Mysore Race Club (MRC) Limited Chairman Hanuman Prasad, here this morning.

Addressing press persons at MRC, he said that the Mysore Races will be held for a period of 16 days from Aug. 25 to Oct. 22 and total stakes (including Cups) worth Rs. 5,96,50,930 was advertised for the upcoming racing event.

The 16-day racing event will feature a total of 120 races with 25 local trainers and about 40 outstation trainers including from Madras Race Club expected to race their charges during Mysore Races 2017. Around 100 jockeys including all top riders in the Indian Racing circuit are expected to participate. The MRC will have 200 operational Betting Terminals and all jockeys will continue to undergo breathalyser test, he added.

Speaking about the lease agreement with the Public Works Department, Hanuman Prasad said that the renewal of the land lease was in favour of the Club and there were no issues to conduct the races.

He also added that the Club had conducted various social works under the Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiative which included installation of borewell and solar water pumps at a cost of Rs. 8 lakh in Bandipur National Park, screening of 45,212 patients for eye-related problems through MRC Charitable Trust of which 2,812 were operated upon.

This apart, the MRC also played host to the 3rd International Yoga Day celebrations on June 21 where around 50,000 yoga enthusiasts took part, he said.

Hanuman Prasad also added that the efforts were being made to facilitate racing enthusiasts including tourists to watch live races from a designated enclosure free of cost.

The Karnataka Racehorse Owners Association will continue to sponsor The Mysore 1000 Guineas 2017 and the Jayachamaraja Wadiyar Golf Club will continue to sponsor Mysore 2000 Guineas 2017.

MRC Steward Y.P. Udayashanker, Secretary K.G. Anantharaj Urs, Steward G.K. Balakrishnan, Committee Member Dr. N. Nithyanand Rao, Additional Secretary and Chief Stipendiary Steward T. Raman were present during the press meet.

Important Classic / Sweepstakes Races


Aug. 25 : The Srikantadatta Narasimharaajawadiyar Memorial Million 2017 – for 3-year-old.

Sept.1 : The H.H. Sri Krishnaraja Wadiyar Memorial Trophy [Grade III] – for 4-year-old and over.

Sept. 14 : The Maharaja’s Cup [Grade III] – for 4-year-old & over.

Sept. 15 : The Karnataka Racehorse Owners Association Mysore 1000 Guineas 2017 [Grade III].

Sept.28 : The Jayachamaraja Wadiyar Golf Club Mysore 2000 Guineas 2017 [Grade III].

Oct. 6 : The Mysore Dasara Sprint Championship 2017 [Grade III] – for 3-year-old and over.

Oct. 13 : The Governor’s Cup 2017 – for 4-year-old and over.

Oct. 22 : The Mysore Derby 2017 [Grade I].


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]