Mysore State Ranking Badminton Tourney: Saneeth, Tanya clinch titles

Mysore State Ranking Badminton Tourney: Saneeth, Tanya clinch titles

August 17, 2018

Second-seeded Saneeth S. Dayanand and top-seed Tanya Hemanth won the U-17 boys and girls singles titles respectively on the final day of the Mysore State Ranking Badminton tournament conducted by MDBA under the aegis of KBA at the GS Sports Complex and Aditya Sports Arena respectively here yesterday.

In the U-17 boys singles final, second seed Saneeth Dayanand scored an upset win over top-seed K.Pruthvi Roy 17-21, 21-18, 21-10 and clinched the title. In the U-17 girls singles final, top-seed Tanya Hemanth beat fourth seeded Janani Ananthkumar 21-11, 14-21, 21-16 and bagged the top honours.

Satvik Shankar hogged the limelight in the boys U-13 section by winning a grand double by clinching the singles and doubles titles.

Results- Boys

Under-17 Final: Saneeth S. Dayanand bt K.Pruthvi Roy 17-21, 21-18, 21-10. Doubles: C.S. Sanket & Ajinkya G. Joshi bt Saneeth S. Dayanand & K.Pruthvi Roy 21-14, 22-20.

Under-15: Sujnyan Ulhas Kini bt Ayush R. Shetty 12-21, 21-15, 23-21. Doubles: G. S. Sumukha & Ayush R. Shetty bt Sujnyan Ulhas Kini & Tarun B. Morab 14-21, 22-20, 21-19.

Under-13: Satvik Shankar bt Tushar Suveer 10-21, 22-20, 22-20. Doubles: Satvik Shankar & Tushar Suveer bt Pranav Balraj & Aditya Narayan Bhat 21-10, 21-17.


Under-17: Tanya Hemanth bt Janani Ananthkumar 21-11, 14-21, 21-16. Doubles: Janani Ananthkumar & Shruti Nitin Moghe bt Advika Ganesh & N.S.Gagana 21-18, 19-21, 21-19.

Under-15: Vijetha Harish bt Ritu Vardhman 21-8, 21-12. Doubles: Gayathri Rani & Karnika Sree bt Anannya S. Joshy & Akansha S. Pai 21-15,21-12.

READ ALSO  Open Badminton Tourney

Under-13: S.Kanika Sree bt Rujula Ramu 21-12, 21-19. Doubles: Aradhana Balachandra & Prerana N. Shet bt K.Shriya & G.S. Meghashree 19-21, 21-14, 21-16.

The Finals of Under-19  boys and girls will be held tomorrow (Aug. 18) at G.S. Badminton Hall, Vijayanagar IV Stage, near NPS School at 10.30 am.  Prizes will be distributed by Arjun Ranga, Executive President, MDBA.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]