Mysuru-Kodagu LS seat: Men outnumber women in exercising franchise

Mysuru-Kodagu LS seat: Men outnumber women in exercising franchise

April 22, 2019

Mysuru: Even as Mysuru-Kodagu Lok Sabha Constituency, which went to the polls on Apr.18, recorded a voter turnout of 69.25 percent, it is now understood that men have outnumbered women in exercising their franchise. Although women outnumbered men in terms of the number of voters, men voters outnumbered women when it came to casting votes.

The Constituency witnessed a total of 13,11,930 voters exercising their franchise, out of which 6,64,712 are men, 6,47,203 women and others 14 which comprises Kodagu and part of Mysuru district.

The Constituency has 18,94,372 voters, with 9,44,577 men, 9,49,702 women and 127 other voters. The Constituency has eight Assembly segments — Madikeri and Virajpet  in Kodagu district and NR, KR, Chamaraja, Chamundeshwari, Periyapatna and Hunsur in Mysuru district.

Except for Madikeri segment, men voters outnumber women in all other segments. Out of 1,11,853 women voters in Madikeri segment, 85,513 women came out to vote, while only 83,781 out of 1,09,294 men voters exercised their   franchise.

The highest number of women voters 1,50,055 were in Chamundeshwari Assembly segment, where only 1,05,848 of them cast their vote. On the other hand, Periyapatna had the least number of women voters — 90,895 and out of them, only 69,886 exercised their   voting right.

In Virajpet segment, 79,474 out of 1,09,985 women cast their vote, while in Hunsur 90,103 out of 1,12, 770, in KR 73,119 out of 1,23,532, in Chamaraja  68,488 of 1,16,929 and in NR, 79,694 out of 1,33,683 women cast their vote.

It appears that SVEEP has made little impact on ‘other’ category voters as only 14 out of 127 voters in the Constituency exercised their franchise.

READ ALSO  Ashok’s road show for Simha

NR segment had the highest number of ‘other voters’ with 42, out of which only 12 of them voted, while one each in Chamaraja and Chamundeshwari segment cast their vote.

Although Madikeri has 10, Virajpet 15, Hunsur 4, Chamundeshwari 34, KR 21 and Chamaraja one ‘other’ category voters, none of them in these Assembly segments exercised their franchise.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]