National Sports Awards Devendra Jhajharia, Venkatesh Prasad named in Selection Committee

National Sports Awards Devendra Jhajharia, Venkatesh Prasad named in Selection Committee

September 9, 2021

Three-time Paralympic medal-winning javelin-thrower Devendra Jhajharia and former cricketer Venkatesh Prasad have been named in the Selection Committee for this year’s National Sports Awards.

Retired Supreme Court Judge Justice Mukundakum Sharma has been picked as the Chairperson of the Committee, which also includes ex-world champion boxer L. Sarita Devi, decorated former shooter Anjali Bhagwat and former women’s cricket team captain Anjum Chopra, the Sports Ministry stated in a circular.

Jhajharia won a silver medal at the recent Tokyo Paralympics, adding to the two gold medals he had won in the 2004 and 2016 editions.

The Committee will be meeting in the next few days to decide the winners. This year’s awards were delayed after the Government decided to wait for India’s performance at both the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The highest honour is the Khel Ratna award, which was rechristened from Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna to Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna this year, followed by the Arjuna award.

The Khel Ratna carries a prize money of Rs. 25 lakh, while the Arjuna comes with a prize money of Rs. 15 lakh.

For coaches, the Dronacharya award is there. The annual honours also include the Lifetime Achievement award, the Rahstriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar and the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) trophy for the year 2021.

The Selection Committee also includes hockey coach Baldev Singh, Sports Authority of India Director General Sandip Pradhan, and senior journalists Vijay Lokapally and Vikrant Gupta.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]