Padma Shri awards conferred on Srikanth, Somdev and Murlikant

Padma Shri awards conferred on Srikanth, Somdev and Murlikant

March 21, 2018

Ace men’s singles shuttler Kidambi Srikanth and former Asian Games gold medallist tennis player Somdev Devvarman received the country’s fourth-highest civilian award, Padma Shri, from President Ram Nath Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi yesterday.

Besides the duo, India’s first Paralympic gold medallist, Murlikant Petkar also received the Padma Shri on the occasion.

This year, former India cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and multiple world champion cueist Pankaj Advani were conferred with the country’s third-highest civilian award, Padma Bhushan. The 2017 World Weightlifting champion in the 48kg category, Saikhom Mirabai Chanu was conferred the Padma Shri. However, the three of them were not present during the ceremony due to different reasons.

At 25, Srikanth is the second youngest sportsperson in India to have got the Padma Shri. Earlier, P.V. Sindhu got the award at the age of 19. Srikanth, an Arjuna awardee, was the first Indian male badminton player to win gold at the 2015 Swiss Open Grand Prix Gold.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]