RR gains seven-wicket  win against CSK

RR gains seven-wicket win against CSK

October 20, 2020

Abu Dhabi: Rajasthan Royals (RR) returned to winning ways after they beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by seven wickets in Match 37 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 in Abu Dhabi yesterday. 

Needing 126 runs to win, RR made a brisk start as Ben Stokes went for his shots. But CSK fought back and picked three wickets in the powerplay.

First, Stokes got out after he dragged a Deepak Chahar delivery onto the stumps. Robin Uthappa was the next man to get out as Josh Hazlewood picked his first wicket of the match.

M.S. Dhoni, then, dived towards his left and took a one-handed stunner in the fifth over to dismiss Sanju Samson.

Steve Smith then survived an LBW call as the on-field decision was not overturned after the ultra-edge indicated that there was a faint edge. CSK though did not allow Smith any easy runs.

Jos Buttler, though, kept the things moving for RR crossed the fifty-run mark in the ninth over. Buttler, then went after Shardul Thakur in the 12th over, hitting the CSK bowler for a four and a six to complete the fifty-run stand with Smith.

In the 15th over, Buttler targeted Piyush Chawla to take RR past hundred and to bring up his 11th IPL fifty. The right-hander creamed three fours as RR scored 16 in the over.

Buttler creamed one more six in the 17th over before RR closed out the game in the 18th over to seal a seven-wicket win. While Buttler remained unbeaten on 70 off 48 balls and Smith scored 26, the pair put up an unbroken 98-run partnership.

READ ALSO  KKR defeats CSK: Returns to winning ways

Earlier, CSK lost two wickets in the powerplay after electing to bat. Jofra Archer made the ball talk and struck in the third over of the match after Jos Buttler, stationed at short cover, took a fine leaping catch to get Faf du Plessis out for 10.

While Shane Watson and Sam Curran hit three fours off Kartik Tyagi in the fourth over, the young speedster had the final laugh as he dismissed the former Australian all-rounder in the same over.

CSK moved past fifty at the end of the 8th over but lost two wickets in quick succession soon after RR introduced spin in the attack. While Shreyas Gopal had Curran caught at long-off, Ambati Rayudu, after surviving an LBW call, mistimed his sweep and gave an easy catch to wicket-keeper Sanju Samson.

M.S. Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja then kept the scoreboard ticking as CSK moved to 89/4 at the end of the 15th over.

Two overs later, CSK moved past hundred before the Dhoni-Jadeja pair completed a fifty-run stand. But Dhoni was run-out soon after. CSK eventually posted 125/5 on the board, with Jadeja scoring an unbeaten 35. 

Brief Scores

RR: 126/3 in 17.3 Overs (Jos Buttler 70*, Steve Smith 26*; Deepak Chahar 2/18) beat CSK: 125/5 (Ravindra Jadeja 35*, M.S. Dhoni 28; Shreyas Gopal 1/14) by seven wickets.


Today’s Match (Oct. 20)

KXIP Vs DC – Dubai Intl. Cricket Stadium, Dubai, 7.30 pm (IST)

Tomorrow’s Match (Oct. 21)

KKR Vs RCB – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, 7.30 pm (IST)

READ ALSO  Virat Kohli first Indian to reach 9,000 T20 runs

Yesterday’s Result

CSK 125/5 (20 Overs) lose to RR 126/3 (17.3 Overs)

Catch live actions on Star Sports and  Star Gold


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]