South Korean film Parasite creates history at Oscars

South Korean film Parasite creates history at Oscars

February 10, 2020

Takes home four awards

Los Angeles: In a historic victory that highlighted the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ scramble to diversify its voting ranks following the outcry over #OscarsSoWhite, the South Korean thriller ‘Parasite’ won best picture — the first foreign-language film to do so — and collected three other awards, including one for Bong Joon Ho’s direction, at the 92nd Academy Awards (Oscars) ceremony held at Dolby Theatre, here. This year’s ceremony marked the second consecutive year the Oscars went host-less.

List of Winners

Best Make-up & Hairstyling: Kazuhiro Tsuji, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker for ‘Bombshell.’

Best Visual Effects: Guillame Rocheron, Domini Tuohy, Greg for ‘1917.’

Best Film Editing: Andrew Buckland and Michael Mccusker for ‘Ford v Ferrari.’

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins for ‘1917.’

Best Sound Mixing: Stuart Wilson for ‘1917.’

Best Sound Editing: Donald Sylvester for ‘Ford v Ferrari.’

Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern for ‘Marriage Story.’

Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt for ‘Once upon a Time in Hollywood.’

Best Short Documentary: Carol Dysinger,  Elena Andreicheva for ‘Learning to Skateboaord in a Warzone (If You’re a girl).’

Best Documentary Feature: Julia Reichert, Steven Bognar and Jeff Reichert for ‘American Factory.’

Best Costume Design: Jacqueline Durran for ‘Little Women.’

Best Production Design: Nancy Haigh for ‘Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.’

Best Live Action Short Film: Marshall Curry for ‘The Neighbors’ Window.’

Best Adapted Screenplay: Taika Waititi for ‘Jojo Rabbit.’

Best Original Screenplay: Bong Joon-Ho and Han Jin-won for ‘Parasite.’

Best Animated Short Film: M.A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver for ‘Hair Love.’

READ ALSO  Blunder at the Oscars !

Best Animated Feature: Josh Cooley, Jonas Rivera and Mark Nielsen for ‘Toy Story 4.’

Best Foreign Language Film: Parasite (South Korean).

Best Original Score: Hildur Guonadottir for ‘Joker.’

Best Director: Bong Joon-Ho for ‘Parasite.’

Best Picture: Parasite.

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix for ‘Joker.’

Best Actress: Renee Zelweger for ‘Judy.’

Actor Wes Studi and filmmakers David Lynch and Lina Wertmuller received Honorary Oscars; Geena Davis received the Jean Hershoolt Humanitarian Award. 

India’s Oscar entry this year, ‘Gully Boy,’ starring Ranveer Singh and Alia Bhatt, exited the race at the shortlist stage.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 41 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]