Srikanteshwara’s blessings must to rule Nanjangud
Feature Articles, Top Stories

Srikanteshwara’s blessings must to rule Nanjangud

April 5, 2023

By Mohan Kayaka

All political parties have begun vying to have the blessings of Lord Srikanteshwaraswamy, the presiding deity of the Temple Town of Nanjangud. As without his support, it is impossible to be an MLA of this holy place that is a key Assembly segment of the Mysuru district.

Nanjangud town, the seat of Lord Srikanteshwara, is popularly known as Dakshina Kashi and is visited by lakhs of devotees every year from different parts of the country. The town is also an industrial hub, with many industries of repute located here.

The Constituency which was first formed as a twin-member seat in 1952, has now been converted as SC Reserved Constituency since 2008 Assembly polls. In the first election held in 1952, Hejjige Linganna (Independent) and M. Madaiah of Congress got elected from the twin-member seat, which became a single-member seat in the subsequent election held in 1957.

In 2008, the Constituency became a reserved seat for Scheduled Caste with V. Sreenivasa Prasad of the Congress winning the seat. Prasad won again in 2013 and a couple of years later he quit the Congress and joined the BJP, which necessitated the by-poll in 2017 which he however lost to Kalale N. Keshavamurthy of the Congress.

In the 2018 Assembly polls, B. Harshavardhan, son-in-law of Sreenivasa Prasad, won the seat for the BJP, thus avenging the defeat of his father-in-law Prasad. Harshavardhan defeated Kalale Keshavamurthy by a margin of nearly 13,000 votes and now he hopes to retain the seat for the BJP.

In the past, M. Mahadev (popularly known as ‘Benki’ Mahadev) had won thrice on a Congress ticket, while D.T. Jayakumar too had won thrice on a Janata Parivar ticket and the tussle between the two, threw up an interesting saga for over two decades.

READ ALSO  Vijayendra confident of BJP coming to power

This time, the battle will be mainly between the BJP and Congress. The Congress has already announced the candidature of Darshan Dhruvanarayan, son of late KPCC Working President and former MP R. Dhruvanarayan who passed away recently.

The Congress announced the candidature of Darshan due to the sentiment in his favour following the death of his father who was popular among the masses and was widely tipped to be the Congress candidate. Darshan is likely to ride heavily on the sympathy wave that has been generated widely across the segment.


The Constituency has a total of 2,18,201 voters, including 1,08,812 male, 1,09,383 female and 6 other voters. Like most of the other Constituencies in the district, women voters outnumber men. There are 3,107 physically challenged voters and 7,572 voters above 80 years of age.


        Year                                              MLA Party
1952Hejjige LingannaIndependent
(Twin Seats) M. MadaiahCongress
1957P. MahadevaiahCongress
1957 (By-poll)J.B. MallaradhyaPSP
1962N. RachaiahCongress
1967L. SrikantaiahIndependent
1972K.B. ShivaiahCongress
1978K.B. ShivaiahIndira Congress
1983M. MahadevCongress
1985D.T. JayakumarJanata Party
1989M. MahadevCongress
1994D.T. JayakumarJanata Dal (S)
1999M. MahadevCongress
2004D.T. JayakumarJanata Dal (S)
2008V. Sreenivasa PrasadCongress
2013V. Sreenivasa PrasadCongress
2017 (By-poll)Kalale N. KeshavamurthyCongress
2018B. HarshavardhanBJP

Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]