State-level Kayakalpa Awards presented to 2,541 PHCs

State-level Kayakalpa Awards presented to 2,541 PHCs

February 9, 2024

Mysore/Mysuru: State-level Kayakalpa Awards for the year 2022-23 were presented to a total of 2,541 Primary Health Centres (PHCs) including five from Mysuru district, for maintaining cleanliness and hygiene.

Health and Family Welfare Minister Dinesh Gundu Rao presented the awards at the ceremony organised by Health and Family Welfare Department at MMC and RI Platinum Jubilee auditorium, JK Grounds here on Tuesday.

In the category of District Hospitals, Chamarajendra Hospital of Hassan secured the first prize, while the first prize for Taluk Hospitals went to General Hospital, Gangavati in Koppal district. The Special Category prize was given to Trauma and Emergency Care Centre, Bengaluru, Lady Goshan Hospital, Dakshina Kannada and PHC, Basavana Bagewadi taluk, Vijayapura district.

Speaking after distributing the awards, Dinesh Gundu Rao said “Better health can be assured if the hospital environment is kept clean. Best of the treatment can be given only at those hospitals maintaining cleanliness. It is with the same intention that Kayakalpa Awards is given every year to those hospitals that meet this criteria.”

There are complaints about doctors at several hospitals not reporting to duty on time. The sufferers are the general public who had to return without any treatment, which calls for bringing reforms in the system, he observed.

He also advised the doctors to treat patients from economically backward families with utmost care and patience.  

MLAs Tanveer Sait and K. Harishgowda, Health and Family Welfare Department Secretary T.K. Anil Kumar, Commissioner D. Randeep, Director Dr. B.S. Pushpalatha, Divisional Joint Director Dr. H.R. Rajeshwari Devi, DHO Dr. P.C. Kumaraswamy, Advisor to NHSRC Dr. J.N. Srivastav, Director of National Health Mission (NHM) Dr. Y. Naveen Bhat, ZP CEO K.M. Gayathri, Dean and Director of Mysore Medical College and Research Institute (MMC and RI) Dr. K.R. Dakshayini and others were present.

READ ALSO  Revamping of PHCs on the anvil: Health Minister

Five PHCs of Mysuru receive Awards

Five Primary Health Centres (PHCs) of Mysuru district that received State-level Kayakalpa Awards are: PHC at Saraswathipuram, T.K. Layout, Gungral Chatra in Mysuru taluk, Bherya in K.R. Nagar taluk and Mullur PHC in H.D. Kote taluk. They were considered for the honour for complying with eight norms like cleanliness, hygiene, disposal of waste, awareness, infection control, basic infrastructural facilities among others.


Mysuru’s favorite and largest circulated English evening daily has kept the citizens of Mysuru informed and entertained since 1978. Over the past 45 years, Star of Mysore has been the newspaper that Mysureans reach for every evening to know about the happenings in Mysuru city. The newspaper has feature rich articles and dedicated pages targeted at readers across the demographic spectrum of Mysuru city. With a readership of over 2,50,000 Star of Mysore has been the best connection between it’s readers and their leaders; between advertisers and customers; between Mysuru and Mysureans.


Academy News Papers Private Limited, Publishers, Star of Mysore & Mysuru Mithra, 15-C, Industrial ‘A’ Layout, Bannimantap, Mysuru-570015. Phone no. – 0821 249 6520

To advertise on Star of Mysore, email us at

Online Edition: [email protected]
Print Editon: [email protected]
For News/Press Release: [email protected]